Skip to main content

Preview: "The Essential Kinks"

Artist: Kinks
Title: The Essential Kinks
Release Date: October 14, 2014
Label: Legacy
Format(s): 2-CDs, DD

The Kinks will get a new 2-CD career retrospective on October 14 with the release of The Essential Kinks on Legacy.

The group's entire history is covered on the 48 tracks from their days at Pye, Reprise, RCA, Arista and Columbia. Ray Davies personally selected each of the tracks on the album which includes at least one song from most of their early albums but skips over a number from the 80's and 90's. The band approved each of the selections.

The set will include a booklet with new liner notes by David Bowie, photos and more.

Track List:

Disk 1
  • You Really Got Me (from You Really Got Me, 1964)
  • Stop Your Sobbing (from You Really Got Me, 1964)
  • All Day And All Of The Night (from Kinks-Size, 1965)
  • Tired Of Waiting For You (from Kinks-Size, 1965)
  • Nothin’ In This World Can Stop Me Worryin’ ’Bout That Girl (from Kinda Kinks, 1965)
  • Ev’rybody’s Gonna Be Happy (from Kinda Kinks, 1965)
  • A Well Respected Man (from Kinkdom, 1965)
  • Dedicated Follower Of Fashion (single, 1966)
  • Who’ll Be The Next In Line (from Kinkdom, 1965)
  • Set Me Free (single, 1965)
  • See My Friends (from Kinkdom, 1965)
  • Sunny Afternoon (from Face to Face, 1966)
  • Dead End Street (single, 1966)
  • Death Of A Clown (from Something Else, 1967)
  • Autumn Almanac (single, 1967)
  • David Watts (from Something Else, 1967)
  • Waterloo Sunset (from Something Else, 1967)
  • Days (from the Europe and New Zealand editions of The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, 1968)
  • The Village Green Preservation Society (from The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, 1968)
  • Do You Remember Walter? (from The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, 1968)
  • Picture Book (from The Kinks Are the Village Green Preservation Society, 1968)
  • Victoria (from Victoria (or the Decline and Fall of the British Empire, 1969)
  • Apeman (from Lola vs. Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One, 1970)
  • Strangers (from Lola vs. Powerman and the Moneygoround, Part One, 1970)
  • 20th Century Man (from Muswell Hillbillies, 1971)
  • Supersonic Rocket Ship (from Everybody's in Show-Biz, 1972)
  • Celluloid Heroes (U.S. single version) (from Everybody's in Show-Biz, 1972)
Disc 2
  • Here Comes Yet Another Day (from Everybody's in Show-Biz, 1972)
  • You Don’t Know My Name (from Everybody's in Show-Biz, 1972)
  • Till The End Of The Day (live 1972)
  • One Of The Survivors (from Preservation: Act 1, 1973)
  • Sweet Lady Genevieve (from Preservation: Act 1, 1973)
  • Everybody’s A Star (Starmaker) (from Soap Opera, 1975)
  • Life On The Road (from Sleepwalker, 1977)
  • Sleepwalker (from Sleepwalker, 1977)
  • Life Goes On (from Sleepwalker, 1977)
  • A Rock ’N’ Roll Fantasy (single version) (from Misfits, 1978)
  • Father Christmas (single, 1977)
  • (Wish I Could Fly Like) Superman (from Low Budget, 1979)
  • Lola (live 1979) (from One For the Road, 1980)
  • Where Have All The Good Times Gone (live 1979) (from One For the Road, 1980)
  • Better Things (single version) (from Give the People What They Want, 1981)
  • Destroyer (from Give the People What They Want, 1981)
  • Come Dancing (from State of Confusion, 1983)
  • Don’t Forget To Dance (from State of Confusion, 1983)
  • Do It Again (from Word of Mouth, 1984)
  • Living On A Thin Line (from Word of Mouth, 1984)
  • Scattered (from Phobia, 1993)
Note: All albums listed above are from the American releases. 


Anonymous said…
It's missing anything from To The Bone but it is great start.