Skip to main content

Guardians of the Galaxy Soundtrack, Filled With 70's Classics, is a Huge Download Hit

Guardians of the Galaxy, the new Marvel movie about a ragtag group of superheroes that includes a tree and a talking raccoon, is set to break the all-time box office record for an August opening this weekend and the associated soundtrack is also killing it on the charts.

Currently number 1 on both the iTunes and Amazon download charts, Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Volume 1 includes twelve big 70's chart hits (well, technically eleven from the 70's and one from the 60's) by artists from David Bowie to Norman Greenbaum. What makes this especially impressive is that it's the younger generation, who make up the vast majority of downloaders, that are eating up these classics.

On the CD side, the album is number 3 as of this writing on Amazon behind the new sets from Eric Clapton and Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers.

The track list for Guardians of the Galaxy Awesome Mix Volume 1
  • Hooked on a Feeling - Blue Suede
  • Go All the Way - Raspberries
  • Spirit in the Sky - Norman Greenbaum
  • Moonage Dream - David Bowie
  • Fooled Around and Fell in Love - Elvin Bishop
  • I'm Not in Love - 10cc
  • I Want You Back - Jackson 5
  • Come and Get Your Love - Redbone
  • Cherry Bomb - Runaways
  • Escape (The Pina Colada Song) - Rupert Holmes
  • O-O-H Child - Five Stairsteps
  • Ain't No Mountain High Enough - Marvin Gaye and Tammi Terrell