Skip to main content

Preview: "Led Zeppelin IV" and "Houses of the Holy" Deluxe Editions

Artist: Led Zeppelin
  • Led Zeppelin IV: Deluxe Edition
  • Houses of the Holy: Deluxe Edition
Release Date: October 28, 2014
Label: Atlantic
Format(s): 1-CD, 2-CDs, 1-LP, 2-LPs, DD, 2-CDs/2-LPs/DD/Book

Led Zeppelin will continue their highly successful reissue campaign on October 28 with upgraded and deluxe versions of their fourth and fifth albums, Led Zeppelin IV and Houses of the Holy.

Led Zeppelin IV is currently ranked by the RIAA as the third biggest selling album ever in the U.S. behind the Eagles' Greatest Hits and Michael Jackson's Thriller with certified sales of 23 million copies. Released on November 8, 1971, the album went to number 2 in the U.S. and the top of the charts in the U.K.  Two singles were released from the album, Black Dog (1971 / #15) and Rock and Roll (1972 / #47) but it was the album track Stairway to Heaven that went on to be, arguably, one of the most popular song of the rock era and, by far, the biggest track never released as a single.

The band followed up two years later with Houses of the Holy, their third number 1 album in the U.S. The album was a turning point for Led Zeppelin as the first album that they had totally written themselves and with new sounds and production techniques. The RIAA has certified the album for eleven million copies sold in the U.S., tying it for 54th on the all-time list. Over the Hills and Far Away (1973 / #51) and D'yer Mak'er (1973 / #20) were released as singles but tracks such as The Song Remains the Same and No Quarter also received airplay on progressive radio.

Jimmy Page has, once again, overseen the release of the deluxe editions with each album including a second disc of rough, working and alternate mixes.

Each of the albums will be released as:
  • 1-CD remastered version of the original album
  • 2-CD remastered version of the original album plus disc of bonus material
  • 1-LP remastered version of the original album
  • 2-LP remastered version of the original album plus disc of bonus material
  • Digital Download
  • Super Deluxe Box
    • 2-CD remastered version of the original album plus disc of bonus material
    • 2-LP remastered version of the original album plus disc of bonus material
    • High-def audio download card of all tracks
    • Hard bound, 80-page book with rare and previously unseen photos and memorabilia
    • High-quality print of the original album cover

Track List:

Led Zeppelin IV

Disc 1
  • Black Dog
  • Rock And Roll
  • The Battle of Evermore
  • Stairway To Heaven
  • Misty Mountain Hop
  • Four Sticks
  • Going To California
  • When The Levee Breaks
Disc 2
  • Black Dog - Basic Track With Guitar Overdubs
  • Rock And Roll - Alternate Mix
  • The Battle Of Evermore - Mandolin/Guitar Mix From Headley Grange
  • Stairway To Heaven - Sunset Sound Mix
  • Misty Mountain Hop - Alternate Mix
  • Four Sticks - Alternate Mix
  • Going To California - Mandolin/Guitar Mix
  • When The Levee Breaks - Alternate UK Mix

Houses of the Holy

Disc 1
  • The Song Remains The Same
  • The Rain Song
  • Over The Hills And Far Away
  • The Crunge
  • Dancing Days
  • D'yer Mak'er
  • No Quarter
  • The Ocean
Disc 2
  • The Song Remains The Same - Guitar Overdub Reference Mix
  • The Rain Song - Mix Minus Piano
  • Over The Hills And Far Away - Guitar Mix Backing Track
  • The Crunge - Rough Mix - Keys Up
  • Dancing Days - Rough Mix With Vocal
  • No Quarter - Rough Mix With JPJ Keyboard Overdubs - No Vocal
  • The Ocean - Working Mix