Preview: Deluxe Editions of "Venus and Mars" and "Wings at the Speed of Sound" - Paul McCartney & Wings

Artist: Paul McCartney and Wings
  • Venus and Mars: Deluxe Edition
  • Wings at the Speed of Sound: Deluxe Edition
Release Date: September 23, 2014
Label: Hear Music
Format(s): 2-CDs, 2-CDs/1-DVD/Book, 2-Vinyl LPs, DD

The Paul McCartney reissue series by Hear Music moves to the mid-70's with the issue of deluxe editions of Venus and Mars (1975) and Wings at the Speed of Sound (1976).

Venus and Mars was the followup to Band on the Run and included the number 1 single Listen to What the Man Said along with Letting Go (1975 / #12 Pop) and Venus and Mars/Rock Show (1975 / #39). The album received mediocre reviews but has gone on to sell an estimated ten million copies.

Wings at the Speed of Sound also was met with middling reviews but produced two major hits with Silly Love Songs (1976 / #1) and Let 'Em In (1976 / #3).

The new editions will be released as 2-CD sets with a disc containing a remastered edition of the album and a disc of other non-album singles of the era, alternate versions and released songs.

A deluxe version includes the two CDs and a DVD with making of documentaries, TV ads and music videos along with an 128-page hardback book with vintage photos, new interviews and essays and facsimile memorabilia, and a download card for hi-res versions of all the tracks.

Two-LP gatefold vinyl versions will also be released of each.

Track List:

Venus and Mars

Disc 1 (Remastered Album)
  • Venus and Mars
  • Rock Show
  • Love In Song
  • You Gave Me The Answer
  • Magneto and Titanium Man
  • Letting Go
  • Venus and Mars – Reprise
  • Spirits Of Ancient Egypt
  • Medicine Jar
  • Call Me Back Again
  • Listen To What The Man Said
  • Treat Her Gently – Lonely Old People
  • Crossroads
Disc 2 (Bonus Audio)
  • Junior’s Farm (previously released as a single)
  • Sally G (B-side of Junior’s Farm single)
  • Walking In The Park With Eloise (previously released as a single)
  • Bridge On The River Suite (B-side of Walking In The Park With Eloise)
  • My Carnival (B-side of Spies Like Us single, 1985)
  • Going To New Orleans (My Carnival) (previously unreleased)
  • Hey Diddle (Ernie Winfrey mix) (previously unreleased)
  • Let’s Love (previously unreleased)
  • Soily (from One Hand Clapping)
  • Baby Face (from One Hand Clapping)
  • Lunch Box/Odd Sox (B-side of Coming Up single, 1980)
  • 4th Of July (previously unreleased)
  • Rock Show (old version) (previously unreleased)
  • Letting Go (single edit) (previously released as a single)
DVD (Deluxe version only)
  • Recording My Carnival
  • Bon Voyageur
  • Wings At Elstree
  • Venus and Mars TV Ad

Wings at the Speed of Sound

Disc 1 (Remastered Album)
  • Let ‘Em In
  • The Note You Never Wrote
  • She’s My Baby
  • Beware My Love
  • Wino Junko
  • Silly Love Songs
  • Cook Of The House
  • Time To Hide
  • Must Do Something About It
  • San Ferry Anne
  • Warm And Beautiful
Disc 2 (Bonus Audio)
  • Silly Love Songs (demo)
  • She's My Baby (demo)
  • Message To Joe (vocoder track)
  • Beware My Love (John Bonham Version)
  • Must Do Something About It (Paul’s Version)
  • Let ‘Em In (demo)
  • Warm and Beautiful (instrumental demo)
DVD (Deluxe version only)
  • Silly Love Songs Music Video
  • Wings Over Wembley
  • Wings In Venice

No comments

Powered by Blogger.