Skip to main content

Preview - Welcome to the Pleasuredome - Frankie Goes to Hollywood (Multi-Format Deluxe Box)

Artist: Frankie Goes to Hollywood
Title: Welcome to the Pleasuredome: Ultra-Deluxe Box
Release Date: TBA
Label: Zang Tuurn Tumb
Format(s): Vinyl LP/3-10" Vinyl Singles/DVD/Cassette/Book/DD

Zang Tuurn Tumb has started a PledgeMusic campaign for a unique Ultra-Deluxe Box saluting the 30th anniversary of Frankie Goes to Hollywood's Welcome to the Pleasuredome. There is little doubt the project will go forward as the company is at 92% of their goal after one day of the 40 day campaign.

From the PledgeMusic page:
Inside The Pleasuredome is a strictly limited ultra-deluxe edition which will come in a beautifully designed 12”-sized, 2.5”-deep box with lift-off lid and foam fitments. It will contain ten bespoke elements, the first five of which are exclusive to the box set and will not be sold separately:
  • Come Inside – The entry-point into the Pleasuredome experience, via a unique flipbook animation of Lo Cole’s classic artwork.
  • Tumbometer Nine – A Zang Tuum Tumb info sheet detailing everything you’ll find Inside The Pleasuredome, where it came from and why it’s there. Plus a complete listing of the Element Series, past, present and future.
  • And Suddenly There Came A Zang! – The Art of Frankie Goes To Hollywood. A stunning 48-page case-bound hardback book celebrating and exploring the artwork of Welcome To The Pleasuredome, with contributions from Paul Morley, designer David Smart, illustrators Lo Cole and Anne Yvonne Gilbert and photographers John Stoddart, Steve Rumney, AJ Barratt and Peter Ashworth.
  • Brothers and Sisters – The DVD. Compiling the Pleasuredome videos – Relax, Two Tribes, The Power of Love and Welcome To The Pleasuredome by directors Godley & Creme, Bernard Rose and David Mallett – and 5.1 surround sound audio mixes of the classic singles and album tracks. This is a double disc with NTSC region 0 on one side and PAL region 0 on the other.
  • Voiceless, Volume 1 – The Instrumentals. A five track FLAC digital EP with previously unreleased instrumental versions of 7” and 12” mixes.
  • NOTE: this is exclusive to Pledgers.
  • Cowboys and Indians – The Alternate Tracks. A four-track EP that explores the making of Frankie’s second single, with two previously unreleased takes of Two Tribes and one of WAR on 10” vinyl in die-cut sleeve
  • Lovers and Haters – The Studio Demos. A four-track EP tracing the story of two of the earliest tracks recorded for Welcome To The Pleasuredome, with two previously-unreleased takes of Relax and two previously-unreleased versions of The Only Star In Heaven. 10" vinyl in die-cut sleeve
  • Doctors and Nurses – The Remixes. A pairing of the third 12” mix of War! (which went on to become the Art of Noise track, Oobly) with an alternate 12” version of Welcome To The Pleasuredome, both previously unreleased. 10” vinyl in die-cut sleeve
  • Suck It Up – The Relax Cassette. A 13-track, C90 remix anthology. From the 16-minute Sex Mix to Trevor Horn’s New York Mix, via six previously unreleased versions.
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome – The 2014 Vinyl Edition. The original 16-track album, remastered at Sarm Studios by Trevor Horn and his 2014 THeam, pressed on 180g audiophile vinyl and packaged in a unique die-cut sleeve designed to frame one of three accompanying prints by original Pleasuredome sleeve artist, Lo Cole.
With each Box you will also get a FLAC digital download of all the music.
Track List:

Welcome To The Pleasuredome – 2014 12” Vinyl Edition
  • Well…. 
  • The World Is My Oyster
  • Snatch Of Fury (Stay)
  • Welcome To The Pleasure Dome
  • Relax (Come Fighting)
  • War (…. And Hide)
  • Two Tribes (For The Victims Of Ravishment)
  • Ferry (Go)
  • Born To Run
  • San Jose (The Way)
  • Wish (The Lads Were Here)
  • Including The Ballad Of 32
  • Krisco Kisses
  • Black Night White Light
  • The Only Star In Heaven
  • The Power Of Love
  • Bang

Lovers and Haters – Studio Sessions
  • Relax (09/04/83: Rough Mix)
  • Relax (09/10/83: CMI Backing Track)
  • The Only Star In Heaven (08/29/84: ’Gary’s Mix’ with Keys and BD)
  • The Only Star In Heaven (08/29/84: ’Gary’s Mix’ Dub Bits)

Cowboys and Indians – Alternate Takes
  • Two Tribes (10/04/84: Bit 4)
  • War (10/04/84: Man Has a Sense for the Discovery of Beauty)
  • Two Tribes (05/31/84: Rough 12” Mix)
  • Two Tribes (09/01/84: Rough 12” Mix)

Doctors and Nurses – Mix/Remix
  • War (17.05.84: ‘War! III’)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (08/10/84: ‘Pleasuredome II’)

Relax (C90 singlette)
  • Relax (Bit 1) 
  • Relax (Sex Mix)
  • Relax (New York Mix)
  • Relax (Greatest Bits)
  • One September Monday (Bit 1) 
  • Relax (Bit 2) 
  • Relax (Sex Mix, Edition 2)
  • Relax (Sex Mix, Edition 3)
  • Relax (Video Version) 
  • One September Monday (Bit 2) 
  • Relax (Greek Disco Mix)
  • Relax (The Last Seven Inches!)
  • Relax (Bonus, Again)
  • Relax (Bit 3) 

Brothers and Sisters (DVD)
  • Relax (Version 1)
  • Relax (Live Version)
  • Relax (Laser Version)
  • Two Tribes (Version 1
  • Two Tribes (Video Destruction)
  • The Power Of Love (Version 1)
  • The Power Of Love (Version 2)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (An Alternative To Reality)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (The Escape Act)
  • Relax – No 1 and Guiltless (Version 1)
  • Relax – No 1 and Guiltless (Version 2)
  • The Power Of Love (Win Hearts And Minds)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (The Event Of The Decade)
  • Relax (5.1 Mix)
  • Two Tribes (5.1 Mix)
  • Ferry Cross The Mersey (5.1 Mix)
  • The World Is My Oyster (5.1 Mix)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (5.1 Mix)
  • San Jose (5.1 Mix)
  • War (5.1 Mix)
  • Born To Run (5.1 Mix)
  • The Power Of Love (5.1 Mix)

Voiceless, Volume 1 (Digital EP)
  • Welcome To The Pleasuredome (A Remade World, Voiceless) 
  • War (Hide Yourself!, Voiceless) 
  • Two Tribes (Carnage 7”, Voiceless) 
  • Relax (Come Fighting, Voiceless) 
  • The Power Of Love (Voiceless)