Preview: lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar - Robert Plant

Artist: Robert Plant

Title: lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar
Release Date: September 9, 2014
Label: Nonesuch / Warner Brothers
Format(s): CD, DD

Robert Plant will release his label debut on Nonesuch, lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar, on September 9.

Plant has been relatively spare with his releases over the last decade, going back four years for his album Band of Joy and three years before that for the Alison Krauss collaboration Raising Sand. Joining him on the new album are his latest group, the Sensational Space Shifters,
  • Justin Adams (bendirs, djembe, guitars, tehardant, background vocals)
  • John Baggott (keyboards, loops, moog bass, piano, tabal, background vocals)
  • Juldeh Camara (kologo, ritti, Fulani vocals)
  • Billy Fuller (bass, drum programming, omnichord, upright bass)
  • Dave Smith (drum set)
  • Liam “Skin” Tyson (banjo, guitar, background vocals)
lullaby and...The Ceaseless Roar was recorded at Helium Studios in Wiltshire and Real World Studios in Bath while the track Rainbow was done at Contino Rooms in London. 

Plant said of the release, "It’s really a celebratory record, powerful, gritty, African, Trance meets Zep. The whole impetus of my life as a singer has to be driven by a good brotherhood. I am very lucky to work with The Sensational Space Shifters. They come from exciting areas of contemporary music…I have been around awhile and I ask myself, do I have anything to say? Is there a song still inside me? In my heart? I see life and what’s happening to me. Along the trail there are expectations, disappointments, happiness, questions and strong relationships,” Plant explains. “….and now I’m able to express my feelings through melody, power and trance; together in a kaleidescope of sound, colour , and friendship."

Track List:
  • Little Maggie (Traditional arranged by Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • Rainbow (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
  • Pocketful of Golden (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • Embrace Another Fall (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • Turn It Up (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • A Stolen Kiss (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
  • Somebody There (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • Poor Howard (derived from Po’ Howard (Ledbetter (“Lead Belly”), A. Lomax and J. Lomax Sr.), written by Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Tyson)
  • House of Love (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)
  • Up on the Hollow Hill (Understanding Arthur) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Fuller/Tyson)
  • Arbaden (Maggie’s Babby) (Plant/Adams/Baggott/Camara/Fuller/Smith/Tyson)

1 comment

Anonymous said...


Powered by Blogger.