Skip to main content

Preview: Childhood Home - Ben & Ellen Harper

Artist: Ben & Ellen Harper
Title: Childhood Home
Release Date: May 6, 2014
Label: Prestige Folklore
Format(s): CD, Vinyl, DD

Ben Harper’s next album will be a collaboration with his mother Ellen Harper.

The album Childhood Home is a collection of 10 personal songs about family life, six written by Ben and four by Ellen.

Ellen Harper is a talented multi-instrumentalist who encouraged her children to use their home as a musical laboratory. Ben’s grandparents were also musical. In 1958, they established The Folk Music Center and Museum in Claremont, California. Artists such as Ry Cooder, Taj Mahal and David Lindley frequented the center.

“I was a single mom, so he would come to the music store pretty much every day after school, and help out while I was working. I think he just absorbed a lot of it,” Ellen told her local newspaper. “It was in his environment, everywhere, because I used to play in bands, and he used to hang out with us all the time.”

“Without that upbringing, I don’t think I’d be doing what I do,” Ben told the LA Times upon his grandfather’s passing in 2004.

Ben once told his audience a childhood home “is where you run from, and then run to”.

Track List:
  • A House Is a Home
  • City of Dreams
  • Born to Love You
  • Heavyhearted World
  • Farmer’s Daughter
  • Memories of Gold
  • Altar of Love
  • Break Your Heat
  • Learn It All Again Tomorrow
  • How Could We Not Believe