Skip to main content

Preview: The U.S. Albums - Beatles

Artist: Beatles
Title: The U.S. Albums
Release Date: January 21, 2014 (January 20 in U.K.)
Label: Apple
Format(s): 13-CDs, DD

The majority of reissues of the Beatles' catalog have been using the British release discography. On January 21, their albums from Meet the Beatles to Hey Jude will be released in their American configuration with The U.S. Albums, a 13-CD set from Apple.

Note that this is NOT a complete collection of the group's recorded works, but a set of the 13 albums that were released in the U.S. with a different track listing, art and liner notes from the British version. Not in this set are Sgt. Pepper's Lonely Hearts Club Band, Magical Mystery Tour, Yellow Submarine, Abbey Road or Let It Be, all of which were the same in both countries.

Apple's release coincides with the fiftieth anniversary of the start of Beatlemania in America, marked by their February 7, 1964 appearance on the Ed Sullivan Show.  The group had been on the charts for a year in their native Britain but were yet to make a major impact in the U.S.  That all changed after that one night.

All of the albums are presented in both their mono and stereo versions except for The Beatles' Story and Hey Jude which are stereo only.

Collected in a boxed set with faithfully replicated original LP artwork, including the albums’ inner sleeves. Yesterday And Today features the original album cover of the Beatles posing with raw meat and baby dolls. The package also comes with a collectible sticker of the subsequent Yesterday And Today cover art. The 13 CDs are accompanied by a 64-page booklet with Beatles photos and promotional art from the time, as well as a new essay by American author and television executive Bill Flanagan.

In addition, for a limited time, all of the albums (with the exception of The Beatles’ Story, an audio documentary album) will also be available for individual CD purchase. A Hard Day’s Night (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack), The Beatles’ Story, Yesterday And Today, Hey Jude, and the U.S. version of Revolver make their CD debuts with these releases.

Album List:
  • Meet the Beatles!
  • The Beatles' Second Album
  • A Hard Day's Night (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  • Something New
  • The Beatles' Story
  • Beatles '65
  • The Early Beatles
  • Beatles VI
  • Help! (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)
  • Rubber Soul
  • Yesterday and Today
  • Revolver
  • Hey Jude