Devo to Release Rarities Album, 1981 Live Show

Devo will release an album of rarities from between 2006 and 2009 when they were recording the music that would become Something For Everybody.

Something Else For Everybody: Unreleased Demos and Focus Group Rejects 2006 - 2009 is a digital-only release that can only be obtained from the group's site

Only one of the eleven songs on the new album made it to the final album, Don't Shoot (I'm a Man) which appears here in the Polysics Remix. The rest of the tracks are previously unreleased songs.

The track list:
  • Monsterman
  • On the Inside
  • Should-a Said Yes
  • Think Fast
  • Raise Your Hands
  • Message of Hope
  • Big Dog
  • Can U Juggle?
  • Throw Money at the Problem
  • I Luv Ur Gun
  • Don’t Shoot (I’m a Man) [Polysics Remix]
The album can be pre-ordered now for release on July 23.

Also out that day is Live 1981 Seattle, taken out their 1981 New Traditionalists tour (the 2-LP set was released last Record Store Day). From the press release for the album:
A rare recording of DEVO live in concert during their 1981 New Traditionalists tour, extracted from DEVO’s archives. This CD was cut from a cassette recording of DEVO’s show in Seattle, WA show in November ‘81. DEVO archivist Michael Pilmer (aka Devo-Obsesso), found the tape in a shoebox full of cassettes in Bob No 2’s home fifteen years ago, which he immediately transferred it to DAT. Afterward it promptly disappeared in the flotsam of DEVO history. Here resurrected it stands as a testament to Prince’s claim “DEVO, you guys are crazy!” Yes, crazy tight and relentless like Caucasian James Browns on marching powder.
The track list:
  • Opening Theme
  • Going Under
  • Through Being Cool
  • Jerkin' Back 'N' Forth
  • Soft Things
  • Pity You
  • Girl U Want
  • Planet Earth
  • Whip It
  • Race of Doom
  • Super Thing
  • Uncontrollable Urge
  • Mongoloid
  • Jocko Homo
  • Smart Patrol / Mr. DNA
  • Gut Feeling
  • Gates of Steel

No comments

Powered by Blogger.