Skip to main content

Preview: Tell Me About It - Creed Bratton

Artist: Creed Bratton
Title: Tell Me About It
Release Date:
  • Act 1 - April 16, 2013
  • Act 2 - May 7, 2013
  • Act 3 - May 21, 2013
  • Vinyl - May 21, 2013
Label: Kindred
Format(s): DD, Vinyl

With his day job as the character of Creed Bratton on NBC's The Office just about over, the real life Creed Bratton has decided to return to his original career in music with his sixth solo album, Tell Me About It. The "audio-biography" is being put out digitally in three parts over the next month and will be followed up with a vinyl release.

Bratton was a member of the Grass Roots from their original signing with Dunhill Records through their smash Midnight Confessions. He left the group after becoming frustrated with the record company's refusal to let the group write their own songs or play instruments on the albums.

Over the years since, Bratton has acted in a number of small rolls and put out five solo albums on his Kindred label. Now, in his sixth album, he tells his story from his days with the Grass Roots through his career resurrection with The Office.

Bratton explained about the development of the album "After The Rubbermen [Creed's band] and I started the album, Dave Way, my producer said, 'This is the story of your career.' He said you should make this a concept album. The three acts are like a play. It's a story that takes you along in a psychedelic way."

Here, Bratton, producer Way and members of his band talk about the album:

Track List:

Act I - Let's Start Dancing
  • One Guitar
  • Faded Spats
  • Chemical Wings
  • Yeah, Hi
Act II - The Orange Juice Tastes Like Water
  • Pablo
  • PF Sloan
  • Unemployment Lines
  • My Name Is Leon
  • Heart Of Darkness
Act III - Funny Thing Happened On The Way To Obscurity
  • Old Ruminations
  • Move To Win
  • Better On Top
  • Emmy Awards (Featuring Rainn Wilson)
  • When I Settle Down