Film on The Alarm Getting U.K. Release

The Alarm, who had four top twenty hits on the U.S. Mainstream Rock chart in the 80's, is the subject oa a new movie.
Released in cinemas across the UK from March 15, Phil Daniels and Keith Allen star in Vinyl, a new film inspired by the true story of The Alarm, who in 2004 fooled the music industry to have their first hit in over a decade.

Starring much-loved British icons Phil Daniels (Quadrophenia) and Keith Allen (Trainspotting), with Perry Benson (This Is England) and charismatic newcomer Jamie Blackley (London Boulevard), Vinyl is loosely based on Welsh punk-rock band The Alarm's 2004 scam, when the punk-rockers scored their first hit in over a decade by releasing their single 45 RPM under the cover of a fictitious teenage group called The Poppy Fields.

Written and directed by Sara Sugarman (Confessions of A Teenage Drama Queen), and produced by John H. Williams (Shrek) and Preston Clay Reed, Vinyl echoes The Alarm's story, when they correctly assumed the media would ignore the single if they knew who was behind it. Setting out to prove that ageism was alive and well with the British music industry, The Poppy Fields' 'debut single release' subsequently gained significant airplay and charted in the UK Top 30. With the industry successfully duped, Mike Peters revealed the scam live on-air during Radio 1's chart countdown, causing an international news sensation that grabbed headlines across the world. The band then edited the singles video, which had until then only featured The Poppy Fields, to also include The Alarm (scroll down to view).

In the film, after a booze-fuelled reunion jam session, Johnny Jones (Phil Daniels) and his old band-mates from the once-famous 'The Weapons of Happiness' come up with a gem of a pop-punk single. The problem is that no one is interested in re-signing a bunch of ageing rock stars. But Johnny's not one to quit easily and, along with his band-mates, assemble a talentless bunch of teenagers to be the face of their new single and set about hoodwinking top record labels, radio DJs and the entire rock music world by releasing a single under a fictitious teenage band's name. Holed-up in a house in North Wales, The Weapons of Happiness then teach these young upstarts how to talk the talk and walk the walk, before unleashing them and their single upon the nation.

The film's soundtrack album, released on March 11, features a collection of new songs by The Alarm, such as the movie's thematic anthem Free Rock And Roll (which features Phil Daniels sharing lead vocals with The Alarm's Mike Peters.

To coincide with both the film and the soundtrack's release, The Alarm will be touring the UK from February 28 and, in conjunction with ReverbNation, are giving independent and un-signed artists the chance to open for The Alarm.

Apart from playing on the tour, one of the chosen artists/bands will have the chance to play at the official premiere screening of Vinyl on March 12 at the Empire Cinema, Leicester Square, London.

Mike Peters says, "On August 18th 1979, I travelled to London to see Phil Daniels star in Quadrophenia at a cinema on Oxford Street, and then took the tube to Wembley to see The Who perform the soundtrack live. Vinyl provides The Alarm and film fans with a similar opportunity to see the movie and then hear the soundtrack at the same time. It's going to be an amazing, one-off experience that will hopefully unite fans of cinema and rock 'n' roll in a unique way."

The Alarm's Vinyl tour dates:
  • 02/28 - Bournemouth - O2 Academy
  • 03/01 - Cardiff - Cardiff University
  • 03/02 - Liverpool - O2 Academy
  • 03/03 - Sheffield - ABC
  • 03/06 - Leeds - O2 Academy
  • 03/07 - Oxford - O2 Academy
  • 03/08 - Leicester - O2 Academy
  • 03/09 - Glasgow - Oran Mor Theatre
  • 03/13 - Bristol - O2 Academy
  • 03/14 - London - Islington O2 Academy
  • 03/15 - Birmingham - O2 Academy
  • 03/16 - Manchester - Academy

No comments

Powered by Blogger.