Skip to main content

Geoff Tate's Queensryche Signs With Cleopatra Records; Announces New Lineup

The Geoff Tate version of Qeensryche have signed a new recording deal with Cleopatra Records who will release the new line-up's first album, and thirteenth overall, later this year.
The lineup for the group has also changed since it was announced last fall.  Joining Tate in the band will be bassist Rudy Sarzo (Ozzy Osbourne, Dio, Whitesnake, Quiet Riot), guitarist Kelly Gray (Queensryche from 1998 to 2001), keyboard player Randy Gane, guitarist Robert Sarzo (Quiet Riot, Hurricane) and drummer Simon Wright (AC/DC, Dio, Rhino Bucket).

Wright has replaced Bobby Blotzer who returned to Ratt. Simon said of his new assignment "I'm very much looking forward to being involved in the Queensryche project with Geoff. I've always admired his singing and songwriting and working with Rudy Sarzo again is going to be cool! Between this and my other project, Dio Disciples, I look forward to a very busy year!"

The new lineup will be joined in the studio by K.K. Downing of Judas Priest, Ty Tabor of King's X and previous member Blotzer.

The band has also announced the first leg of their 25th Anniversary Operation: Mindcrime Tour:

  • 04/06 - West Wendover, NV - Peppermill Casino
  • 04/09 - Aspen, CO - Belly Up
  • 04/11 - Denver, CO - Paramount Theatre
  • 04/12 - Albuquerque, NM - Hard Rock Hotel & Casino
  • 04/13 - Las Vegas, NV - Chrome
  • 04/14 - Tempe, AZ - Marquee Theater
  • 04/16 - Tucson, AZ - Rialto Theatre
  • 04/17 - San Juan Capistrano, CA - The Coach House
  • 04/18 - Agoura, CA - The Canyon Club
  • 04/19 - Solana Beach, CA - Belly Up Tavern
  • 04/20 - Los Angeles, CA - Club Nokia
  • 04/21 - San Francisco, CA - Fillmore
  • 04/22 - Sacramento, CA - Ace of Spades