Set List: Pete Townshend Walks Off In Middle of Encore at Who U.S. Quadrophenia Opener

It took less than one show for controversy to hit the Who's Quadrophenia tour opener Thursday night in Sunrise, Florida.

It wasn't a band problem but one of the sound technicians. During You Better You Bet, concertgoers heard Pete Townshend yelling "too loud" while pointing at his monitor at the front of the stage. When there was no change from the sound crew, Townshend took off his guitar and left the stage. Daltrey and the band kept going, finishing Bet and Baba O'Riley.

While some might see it as a "diva" move, it is well known that Townshend has had hearing damage for at least twenty years and is sensitive about what he has left. If he perceived that the sound from the monitor was high enough to hurt what hearing he retains, then he would be justified in leaving the stage.

Simon Townshend, Pete's brother and part of the band, Tweeted "Pete walked off tonight because it was too loud. Was a good show but had some technical problems."

The set list for the opening night:

Main Set (all Quadrophenia)
  • I Am the Sea
  • The Real Me
  • Quadrophenia
  • Cut My Hair
  • The Punk and the Godfather
  • I’m One
  • The Dirty Jobs
  • Helpless Dancer
  • Is It in My Head?
  • I’ve Had Enough
  • 5:15
  • Sea and Sand
  • Drowned
  • Bell Boy
  • Doctor Jimmy
  • The Rock
  • Love Reign O’er Me
  • Pinball Wizard
  • Behind Blue Eyes
  • Who Are You
  • You Better You Bet
  • Baba O'Riley
It appears that the encore will vary by night. The second night of the tour, in Orlando, had the following encore:
  • Baba O'Riley
  • The Kids Are Alright
  • Anyway Anyhow Anywhere
  • Behind Blue Eyes
  • Who Are You
  • Won't Get Fooled Again
  • Tea & Theatre

No comments

Powered by Blogger.