Preview: Tazer Up! - Wang Chung

Artist: Wang Chung
Title: Tazer Up!
Release Date: December 11, 2012
Label: DSR
Format(s): CD, DD

Wang Chung, yes those icon's of the 80's with hits like Dance Hall Days, Let's Go and Everybody Have Fun Tonight, are releasing a new album on December 11 via DSR. Tazer Up! is their followup to 2010's Abducted by the 80's, itself their first release since 1989.

Included in the album's eleven tracks is a "vamped up" version of their hit Dance Hall Days. Today, the group consists of original members Jack Hues and Nick Feldman.

Wang Chung came out of the post punk, New Wave scene in the UK and over their career released 5 albums and 2 Greatest Hits, selling millions of records around the world, achieving 6 US Top 40 hits, a number 1 and in the process becoming part of the contemporary culture of North America. Their huge smash Everybody Have Fun Tonight, with it's line Everybody Wang Chung tonight, even becoming a verb.. . . 'to Wang Chung' meaning anything from 'to have fun' to more salacious interpretations. Icons such as Homer Simpson, Frazier Crane, Beavis and Butthead, Charlie Harper and his brother Alan Harper (on Two and a Half Men) have namechecked the band on TV and Wang Chung even achieved punchline status in the Austin Powers, The Spy Who Shagged Me movie.

Track List:
  • Dance Hall Days (Psychemagik Remix)
  • City of Light
  • Lets Get Along
  • Rent Free
  • Justify Your Tone
  • Driving You
  • Why?
  • London Orbital
  • Abducted By the 80's
  • Overwhelming Feeling
  • Stargazing


Michael Gitter said...


Anonymous said...

Given the recent deaths by the police over-zealous use of Tasers, the title of the album for me doesn't go down too well. Perhaps Wang Chung could speak to the parents of Roberto Laudisio Curti who was killed by such a weapon.

Powered by Blogger.