Mary Chapin Carpenter Among Inductees to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame

The Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame announced their newest inductees on Tuesday. The four new members are:
  • Mary Chapin Carpenter (Songwriter/Artist) - One of the most successful artists of the 90's, Carpenter has had hits with both her own songs and those written by others. Among her compositions are Down at the Twist and Shout, He Thinks He'll Keep Her, The Hard Way, I Feel Lucky and Shut Up and Kiss Me.
  • Tony Arata (Songwriter) - Arata's songs have been recorded by the likes of Garth Brooks, Patty Loveless, Trisha Yearwood and Emmylou Harris. His songs include The Dance, Part of Me, Slower and Here I Am.
  • Kim Williams (Songwriter) - Williams has written numerous number 1 country songs including The Heart is a Lonely Hunter (Reba McEntire), Three Wooden Crosses (Randy Travis), Who Needs You Baby (Clay Walker), Papa Loved Mama, Ain't Going Down 'Til the Sun Comes Up and She's Gonna Make It (all Garth Brooks).
  • Larry Henley (Veteran Songwriter) - Henley compositions include Wind Beneath My Wings (Bette Midler), 'Til I Get It Right (Tammy Wynette), Lizzie and the Rainman (Tanya Tucker), Is It Still Over? (Randy Travis) and He's a Heartache (Janie Frickie). Outside of songwriting, he was also the lead singer of the group the Newbeats (Bread and Butter) in the 60's. 
This past year, the Foundation created a Veteran Songwriter selection process to run parallel to regular Hall of Fame balloting. Instead of being voted on by professional songwriters and Hall of Fame members on the regular ballot, those in the Veteran category (whose first significant songs appeared 30 or more years ago) are considered by a special committee of Hall of Famers and other contemporaries most familiar with their work.

“Among all the great songwriters who have put the music in Music City, only a select few are elected to the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame,” said John Van Mol , chairman of the foundation’s board of directors. “We are delighted to accord this honor to Tony, Kim and Mary Chapin, and pleased as well to recognize Larry as the first inductee in the Veteran Songwriter category.”

The four new inductees will be honored by their peers and leaders in the Nashville music community at the 42nd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony, presented by AT&T, on Sunday, October 7, at the Renaissance Nashville Hotel.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.