Legacy Recordings to Release Tons of Vinyl From Veteran Artists For Record Store Day

Legacy Recordings has really outdone themselves for this year's Record Store Day, scheduled for Saturday, April 21, 2012. Among the artists that will have special, limited edition 7" and 12" vinyl releases are Janis Joplin, Paul Simon, Willie Nelson, Ozzy Osbourne, Lou Reed and The Clash.

Legacy's releases:
  • Ozzy Osbourne
    • Ozzy Live - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LPs (two disc set) - A limited, numbered collector's edition recorded live on the 1981 Blizzard of Ozz tour with mythic guitarist Randy Rhoads
    • Ozzy Believer Live - 7" single - A limited, numbered collector's edition on polka-dot vinyl featuring Believer (Live) + Goodbye to Romance (2010 guitar and vocal mix)
  • Willie Nelson
    • Just Breathe - CD single - Features Willie's cover of Pearl Jam's Just Breathe, a key track from Heroes, his upcoming new album on Legacy, as well as a non-album cut, Can I Sleep In Your Arms (a new recording of a Hank Cochran tune Willie first recorded for Red-Headed Stranger in 1975). CD single includes Come On Back Jesus (also from Heroes) and a $2 coupon redeemable on purchases of Heroes (available May 15).
  • Paul Simon
    • Graceland - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - The original Grammy Award-winning long-playing album on 25th anniversary of first release. Includes a collectible Graceland poster PLUS card for downloadable MP3s of full album and three bonus songs.
  • Janis Joplin
    • Pearl - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - Joplin's farewell studio recordings sourced from the original masters with cover art meticulously recreated from the original.
    • Highlights From The Pearl Sessions - 10" vinyl EPs (two disc set) - Created exclusively for Record Store Day, this collection includes rare and unreleased studio outtakes of classic songs specifically culled from the recently discovered studio recordings used to create The Pearl Sessions. Highlights From The Pearl Sessions comes packaged in a gatefold jacket with extensive liner notes and rare photographs.
  • Uncle Tupelo
    • The Seven Inch Singles Box - 7" vinyl singles (four 45rpm disc set) - Numbered sets including a 14"x7" poster plus three original replica singles and one previously unreleased 7" disc. Singles are: I Got Drunk b/w Sin City; Gun b/w I Wanna Destroy You; Sauget Wind b/w Looking For A Way Out (acoustic)/Take My Word; That Year (1988 demo) b/w Pickle River (1987 demo).
    • No Depression - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped
    • still feel gone. - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped
    • March 16-20, 1992 - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - Long out of print on vinyl, litho-wrapped
  • 311
    • Music - 12" 180-gram audiophile vinyl LP - Numbered edition in gatefold jacket, newly mastered by Joe Gastwirt, this marks the first time 311's Music has ever been available on vinyl.
  • Lou Reed
    • Rock N Roll Animal - 12" 120-gram vinyl LP - The classic 1974 live album including Sweet Jane and more in a gatefold sleeve.
    • Transformer - 12" 120-gram vinyl LP - The definitive glam-rock masterpiece from 1972, produced by David Bowie and Mick Ronson, featuring Walk On The Wild Side, Perfect Day, Satellite of Love, Vicious and others.
  • Miles Davis
    • Forever Miles - 12" LP - This collection, created especially for Record Store Day, makes five quintessential Miles Davis performances available for the first time on commercial vinyl. A cross-section of tracks from the 1950s, 60s and 70s, Forever Miles includes Dear Old Stockholm, an alternate take from the Miles and John Coltrane box set; Blues For Pablo, Take 1 from the Miles and Gil Evans box set; Hand Jive, an alternate take from the Miles Quintet box set; Early Minor, a new mix from the In A Silent Way box set; and Directions, an unreleased version from Live at the Fillmore East 1970.
  • The Clash
    • London Calling 2012 - 7" single - London Calling (2012 mix) and London Calling (2012 instrumental), two previously unreleased new mixes by Mick Jones, Paul Simonon and Bill Price (engineer on the original London Calling). This Record Store Day exclusive features artwork images from Pennie Smith.
  • Patti Smith
    • Horses - 12" 120-gram vinyl LP - A pillar of the punk rock pantheon, this 1975 album from Patti Smith, her major label debut, helped her find a place in the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame.
  • Shuggie Otis
    • Inspiration Information c/w Magic - 7" single - This limited numbered edition on purple vinyl premieres Magic, an unreleased diamond from Shuggie's personal archive.
  • Iggy and the Stooges
    • Raw Power - 12" 120-gram vinyl LPs (two disc set) - One of the most influential albums of all time, the 1973 cornerstone of punk on two discs: the original 1973 David Bowie mix on one, the 1997 Iggy Pop mix on the other. The gatefold set includes a 16-page booklet featuring rare photos and liner notes. Iggy Pop is serving as 2012 Record Store Day Ambassador.
  • Tedeschi Trucks Band
    • Revelator- LIVE EP - CD single - Contains outstanding live versions of songs from Grammy-winning Revelator album handpicked from the band's triumphant 2011 tour. A first taste of TTB's upcoming live album, Everybody's Talkin', the Revelator LIVE EP includes an exclusive non-album performance and a $2 coupon redeemable on purchases of the album, coming May 22.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.