Skip to main content

Tommy Bolin Tribute Album Includes Peter Frampton, Derek Trucks, Warren Haynes, Brad Whitford, Steve Lukather and More

Tommy Bolin was part of the rock scene for just a short time, playing with the James Gang and Deep Purple, but his legacy has been felt by many of today's greats. Some of those are coming together for the tribute album, Great Gypsy Soul, out on March 27 on 429 Records.

Produced by Greg Hampton and Warren Haynes, it's a remarkable project that brings together major players who actually perform alongside Tommy Bolin's playing and vocals from the recording outtakes to his solo debut album Teaser. Peter Frampton, Warren Haynes (a key supporter of the project), Nels Cline, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Brad Whitford, Joe Bonamassa, John Scofield, Derek Trucks, Glenn Hughes and Myles Kennedy all contribute to this amazing project.

The album will be released in both a single CD format and double CD with bonus tracks. A series of promotional concerts are also in the works.

From the press release:
Tommy Bolin was the quintessential guitar prodigy who focused his talents within the burgeoning rock/metal scenes of the early 70's as well as mastered a highly lauded jazz fusion technique, catching the attention of rock tastemakers and guitar legend peers. It was just a matter of time before Bolin was making a name for himself playing on projects as diverse as Billy Cobham's "Spectrum" project (considered one of the great jazz fusion recordings of all time), replacing Joe Walsh in the James Gang, playing session work on seminal fusion projects by Moxy and Alphonse Mouzon, to replacing Ritchie Blackmore in Deep Purple. With the release of his second solo album "Private Eyes", what should have been a red letter moment for Bolin, opening up for Jeff Beck in Miami, sadly turned tragic as Bolin was found dead of an overdose shortly after the gig.

Says Warren Haynes: "Many of the guests added after the fact have a close personal connection to Tommy—all share in acknowledging his place in rock history. Watching (and hearing) it all come to fruition some 35 years later was a journey of its own—well worth the travel."
The Track Listing:

Disc 1
  • The Grind (with Peter Frampton)
  • Teaser (with Warren Haynes)
  • Dreamer (with Myles Kennedy and Nels Cline)
  • Savannah Woman (with John Scofield)
  • Smooth Fandango (with Derek Trucks)
  • People People (with Big Sugar and Gordie Johnson)
  • Wild Dogs (with Brad Whitford)
  • Homeward Strut (with Steve Lukather)
  • Sugar Shack (with Glenn Hughes and Sonny Landreth)
  • Crazed Fandango (with Steve Morse)
  • Lotus (with Joe Bonamassa, Glenn Huges and Nels Cline)
Disc 2 Bonus CD
  • Flying Fingers (with Oz Noy and Nels Cline)
  • Marching Bag –Movement One (with Nels Cline, Bolin, Greg Hampton, John Scofield, Sonny Landreth)
  • Marching Bag—Movement Two (with Nels Cline, Bolin, Steve Lukather, Derek Trucks, Peter Frampton)
  • Marching Bag—Movement Three (with Gordie Johnson, Bolin, Nels Cline, Oz Noy, Steve Lukather, Steve Morse, Joe Bonamassa)
  • Marching Bag—Movement Four (with Nels Cline, Bolin, Warren Haynes, Joe Bonamassa, Oz Noy, Brad Whitford, Peter Frampton)