Skip to main content

Melissa Manchester Contributes Nine Songs to Dirty Girl Soundtrack, Including One Written With Mary Steenburgen

Singer/songwriter Melissa Manchester has contributed nine songs to the new movie Dirty Girl from the Weinstein Company.

Written and directed by Abe Sylvia, Dirty Girl follows Danielle (Juno Temple) and her parenting class partner Clarke (Jeremy Dozier), on their journey to freedom. Together the mismatched misfits head to California, and discover each other and themselves through a funny and serendipitous friendship. The film features eight classic Melissa Manchester hits as well as the original song, Rainbird, written for the film by Manchester and Mary Steenburgen. Steenburgen costars as Clarke's mother; Manchester appears on screen as a pianist. The soundtrack available on Lakeshore Records.

Writer/director Abe Sylvia described Melissa Manchester and Mary Steenburgen's musical importance to the project: "Manchester's nine songs showcased throughout the film make her the 'musical muse' of Dirty Girl. Melissa's music is Clarke's guiding light, his rock. It is what allows him to face each day anew…the depth and breadth of her body of work has made it possible to score Clarke's biggest emotional moments. Mary Steenburgen is an artist who grasps the ephemeral. It should come as no surprise that an actress who oozes such beautiful poetry in her close-ups should turn out to be such an amazing lyricist. The song she wrote with Melissa Manchester for Dirty Girl, Rainbird, underscores a key turning point in the film. It is a melancholy lullaby that turns into an anthem of hope, no easy task for a songwriter, to bridge the gap between these two opposing musical moods. It is Mary's understanding and compassion for the roots of a character that makes her such a great lyricist."

Melissa Manchester became the first artist to receive two original song Oscar nominations in the same year for different films, Through the Eyes of Love (from Ice Castles) and I'll Never Say Goodbye (from The Promise). She won the Grammy for Best Female Vocalist for You Should Hear How She Talks About You. Last year, she wrote I Know Who I Am performed by Leona Lewis for Tyler Perry's For Colored Girls. Her dozens of albums and soundtracks releases will include a Sony Legacy Greatest Hits album in January. Melissa Manchester received the Governor's Award from the National Academy of Recording Arts & Sciences for her contributions to music.

Mary Steenburgen is best known as an Academy Award winning actor. She was most recently seen in The Help, Step Brothers and The Proposal and is currently guest starring on 30 Rock and HBO's Bored to Death. In addition to her reputation as an actor, she has quietly been gaining acclaim as a songwriter for the last five years. She is currently signed to Universal Music Publishing Group and her song Fall Again, co-written with Matraca Berg, appears on Berg's latest critically-acclaimed release The Dreaming Fields. Recently, Mary Steenburgen collaborated with esteemed music producer George Drakoulias for an upcoming FX series set in Nashville.

The soundtrack to Dirty Girl, which was released on October 11, has the following track list:
  • Shadows of the Night – Pat Benatar
  • You Should Hear How She Talks About You – Melissa Manchester
  • Delta Dawn – Tanya Tucker
  • Midnight Blue – Melissa Manchester
  • I Want Candy – Bow Wow Wow
  • Only You – Rita Coolidge
  • Your Love (Acoustic) – The Outfield
  • Still Myself – Melissa Manchester
  • Strut – Sheena Easton
  • Rainbird – Melissa Manchester
  • Lovergirl – Teena Marie
  • The Life – Wendy & Lisa
  • Don’t Cry Out Loud – Melissa Manchester
  • Whenever I Call You Friend – Fyfe Dangerfield & Inara George