Preview - Live at Montreux 1980 - Rockpile

Seconds of Pleasure
Rockpiles' 1980 Seconds of Pleasure
Artist: Rockpile
Title: Live at Montreux 1980
Release Date: August 22, 2011
Label: Eagle Records
Format(s): CD, DD

The group Rockpile really deserved much more recognition. They were four extremely talented musicians (Dave Edmunds, Nick Lowe, Billy Bremmer and Terry Williams) who played an infectious mix of pop and rockabilly, but contractual obligations among the members stopped them from recording under the group name. Instead, they worked as a single unit but released albums as solo records for Dave Edmunds (Tracks of Wax 4 and Repeat When Necessary) and Nick Lowe (Labour of Lust). Finally, in 1980, they were free of other obligations to record under the Rockpile name with Seconds of Pleasure.  Unfortunately, they would break up soon after the release.

On August 22, Eagle Records will release the first live album from this classic group, recorded at Montreux in 1980. The majority of the tracks are from Edmunds' solo and solo/Rockpile albums with only three from Nick Lowe's albums and two from Seconds of Pleasure.  Still, it is a great cross-section of some of the most popular number from the group's members including Girl Talk, I Knew the Bride, Queen of Hearts, Crawling from the Wreckage and I Feel You Knockin'.

Track List:
  • Sweet Little Liza (from Dave Edmunds' Repeat When Necessary)
  • So It Goes (from Nick Lowe's Jesus of Cool)
  • I Knew The Bride (from Dave Edmunds' Get It)
  • Queen Of Hearts (from Dave Edmunds' Repeat When Necessary)
  • Switchboard Susan (from Nick Lowe's Labour of Lust)
  • Trouble Boys (from Dave Edmunds' Tracks on Wax 4)
  • Teacher Teacher (from Rockpile's Seconds of Pleasure
  • Girls Talk (from Dave Edmunds' Repeat When Necessary)
  • 3 Time Loser (from Dave Edmunds' Twangin')
  • Fine Fine (from Rockpile's Seconds of Pleasure
  • Crawling From The Wreckage (from Dave Edmunds' Repeat When Necessary)
  • Let It Rock (from Dave Edmunds' Subtle as a Flying Mallet)
  • I Hear You Knocking (from Dave Edmunds' Rockpile)
  • They Called It Rock  (bonus track from Nick Lowe's Jesus of Cool)
  • Ju Ju Man (from Dave Edmunds' Get It)
  • Let’s Talk About Us (from Dave Edmunds' Get It)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.