Preview: A Cellarful of Motown, Volume 4 - Various Artists

Artist: Various Artists
Title: A Cellarful of Motown, Volume 4 
Release Date: September 7, 2010
Label: Commercial Marketing
Format(s): 2-CDs

For those who want to hear some of the music that Motown left behind comes the fourth volume in the Cellarful of Motown series out of England.  Here's 50 tracks on two-CDs of music from some of Motown's greats and a few whose name won't be familiar to the majority of people, all of which never made it into release.
Featured are the usual 'out on the floor' thumping Motown scorchers plus newly discovered ballads and sophisticates. Some of the greatest discoveries on this collection include an amazing unheard classic Why Don't You Come Home recorded in 1968 by the young music genius Stevie Wonder.

Also featured is an absolute stomper Born To Be Bad from UK Favourite Edwin Starr and possibly the most special discovery of all, an undeniable 1963 classic Three Times Loser by the incredible Marvin Gaye, proving that despite the declaration that just about every vaulted Gaye track has been discovered, the Cellarful series continues to unlock a piece of music history.
Also included is a 20-page booklet with notes on all of the tracks.

Track List:

Disc One

  • Kidnapped - Blackberries
  • Keep On Tryin' Til You Find Love - Fantastic Four
  • Your Kiss Kiss - Marvin Gaye, Oma Heard
  • My Baby Moves Me - Brenda Holloway
  • Cool, Cool Baby - Jr. Walker & The All Stars
  • The Girls I've Chosen To Be My Bride - Joe Stubbs
  • You Didn't Show Girl - Temptations
  • My Baby Changes Like The Weather - Vows
  • Doctor Of Love - Monitors
  • All I Need Is A Chance - Robert Dobyne
  • The Day You Take One (You Have To Take The Other) - Gladys Knight & The Pips
  • Ain't Gonna Tell You - Frank Wilson
  • Dancing U.S.A. - Contours
  • That's The Way I See Him - Marvelettes
  • Have A Little Patience And Wait - Mary Wells
  • Three Time Loser - Marvin Gaye
  • Lead Me And Guide Me - Holland-Dozier
  • It's Company Time - Versatones
  • Twin Brother - Eddie Holland
  • Think Of The Times - Carolyn Crawford
  • You're What's Happening Baby - Four Tops
  • I'll Turn To Stone - Dennis Edwards
  • I Need You More Than Ever - Paul Williams
  • Daddy, Cool - Oma Heard
  • The Real You - Barbara Mcnair

Disc Two

  • Miss Lonely Hearts - Vandellas
  • The House That Jack Built - J.J. Barnes
  • The Philly Dog - Earl Van Dyke & The Soul Brothers
  • Whole Lot Of Shakin' In My Heart (Since I Met You) - Utopians
  • Only A Lonely Man Would Know - Ivy Joe Hunter
  • It's Gonna Be Always - Blinky
  • Somebody's Waiting For Me - Contours
  • A Bird In The Hand (Is Worth Two In The Bush) - Gladys Knight & The Pips
  • Don't Let Me Be Lonely Tonight - Tammi Terrell
  • Why Don't You Come Home - Stevie Wonder
  • You Can Do It - Miracles
  • You Give Me Love To Live For - Debbie Dean
  • Head Over Heals In Love With You Baby - Spinners
  • I'd Cry - Chuck Jackson
  • In The Summer - Lollipops
  • Just Let Me Thank You For Loving Me - Originals
  • I Feel Like I'm Falling In Love Again - Dennis Edwards
  • Sock It Too Um - Jr. Walker & The All Stars
  • Take Him Back If It Makes You Happy - Fantastic Four
  • Born To Be Bad - Edwin Starr
  • She's All I Need In This World - Marv Johnson
  • Mobile Lil The Dancing Witch - Shorty Long
  • Hey Girl, Come On Do The Pearl - Agents
  • In The Cool Of The Night - David Ruffin
  • Little Miss Loser - Brenda Holloway

No comments

Powered by Blogger.