Preview: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook by Bettye LaVette

Artist: Bettye LaVette
Title: Interpretations: The British Rock Songbook
Release Date: May 25, 2010
Label: Anti-Records
Format(s): CD, Digital

Bettye LaVette's upcoming album sees her taking on what would seem to be an unusual repetoire, British rock classics.  The journey started two years ago when LaVette performed at the Kennedy Center Honors, singing Love Reign O'er Me for the Who, who were being recognized that night.  Pete Townshend paid her the ultimate compliment after the event when he came up to her and said "You made me weep."

Working with the event's producer, Michael Stevens, and it's musical director, Rob Mathes, led to the pair co-producing the new album with Bettye.  They take on the songs of the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Elton John, the Moody Blues and other great British artists.

Elton John talked about how thrilled he was with LaVette's new version of Don't Let the Sun Go Down on Me. "Bettye LaVette has always been a wonderful singer – I have been a huge fan for many years. To my delight and surprise she recorded an amazing version of Talking Old Soldiers – a song that nobody else has covered – and made it her own.

"Now she has recorded Don’t Let the Sun Go Down on Me and has done exactly the same – but this time with a much more familiar song. I am truly touched by her picking these songs and can only hope that this album brings more attention to this incredible artist."

Interpretations contains twelve new studio tracks along with the performance of Love Reign O'er Me from the Kennedy Center Honors.

Track List:
  • The Word (John Lennon/Paul McCartney)
  • No Time To Live (James Capaldi/Stephen Winwood)
  • Don’t Let Me Be Misunderstood (Bennie Benjamin/Gloria Caldwell/Sol Marcus)
  • All My Love (John Baldwin/Robert Plant)
  • Isn’t It A Pity (George Harrison)
  • Wish You Were Here (David Gilmour/Roger Waters)
  • It Don’t Come Easy (Richard Starkey)
  • Maybe I’m Amazed (Paul McCartney)
  • Salt Of The Earth (Michael Jagger/Keith Richards)
  • Nights In White Satin (David Hayward)
  • Why Does Love Got To Be So Sad (Eric Clapton/Bobby Whitlock)
  • Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me (Elton John/Bernard Taupin)
  • Love Reign O’er Me (Peter Townshend) [BONUS TRACK]

No comments

Powered by Blogger.