New Debbie Harry Hits Streets on October 9

It's been fifteen years since the last solo album by Debbie Harry (1993's Debravation), but she's back in the stores on October 9 with Necessary Evil.

Harry became more involved with the making of this album then in any of her previous work. Not only was she intimately involved with the actual music, but she chose the mastering company, photographed herself for the cover artwork and the produced the music video.

The music covers a wide range of styles from from pop-rock to dance to a throwback girl's group sound. Harry said of the album's variety, "I don't know if I consciously did that. If it did happen, it was pretty unconscious. Basically, I would come up with an idea for a topic, a lyric or catch phrase, go in with a melody line, and we would develop it. I don't look at it psychologically. All art is a building process. You just keep layering on your experiences. In that sense, it's totally real."

Helping out on the album is the New York production team Super Buddha (Barb Morrison and Charles Nieland), Jazz Passengers' Roy Nathanson and Bill Ware, the Toilet Boys' Guy Furrow and Blondie's Chris Stein.

The track list for the album:
  • Two Times Blue
  • School for Scandal
  • If I Had You
  • Deep End
  • Love With A Vengeance
  • Necessary Evil
  • Charm Redux
  • You're Too Hot
  • Dirty And Deep
  • What Is Love
  • Whiteout
  • Needless To Say
  • Heat Of The Moment
  • Charm Alarm
  • Jen Jen
  • Naked Eye
  • Paradise
The first single is Two Times Blue. Here is the Debbie Harry produced video:

No comments

Powered by Blogger.