Details for New Spoon Album, "Hot Thoughts", Released and Quickly Withdrawn

by VVN Music

It looks like someone at Matador Records is in a bit of hot water.

On Monday (January 16), their website posted details on the new Spoon album Hot Thoughts but, within minutes, the page was taken down.

The group has returned to Matador for their ninth full length studio album which was produced by Dave Fridmann who has previously worked on albums for the Flaming Lips, Mercury Rev, Low, Sleater-Kinney, OK Go and many others.

According to the Matador site:

’Hot Thoughts’ is the bravest, most sonically inventive work of Spoon’s career. With all due respect to earlier efforts that have made the quintet both critically acclaimed and a commercial contender, preconceptions about this band are about to be obliterated. That’s not to say ‘Hot Thoughts’ doesn’t have a requisite supply of infectious earworms but there’s a lyrical bent that’s as carnal as it’s crafty, and a newfound sense of sonic exploration that results in the genresmasher Spoon have flirted with in the past but not fully consummated.

Produced by Dave Fridmann and back with Matador (third time’s the charm) helps position Spoon to mount the highest highs of their already spectacular career. We are overjoyed to be back in the Spoon business and in time for Britt Daniel’s spot in the pantheon of rock’s genius songwriters was well established way back — with the crackling, incandescent, multi-dimensional backdrop conjured on ‘Hot Thoughts’, the lines between accessible and experimental become non-factors for once and all. It’s pop as high art, delivered with total confidence and focus.

The album will be released on March 17 on CD, LP, purple LP and via digital sites.

The track list:
  • Hot Thoughts
  • WhisperI’lllistentohearit
  • Do I Have to Talk You Into It
  • First Caress
  • Pink Up
  • Can I Sit Next to You
  • I Ain’t The One
  • Tear It Down
  • Shotgun
  • Us

No comments

Powered by Blogger.