The Pretenders Announce New Album, Release First Single

by VVN Music

Yesterday, we found out that the Pretenders would be going out on tour later in the year in support of Stevie Nicks.

Now we have information on a new Pretenders album, Alone, due October 21 from BMG. Alone is their first studio album since 2008's Break Up the Concrete.

What is known, so far, is that the album was produced by Dan Auerbach of the Black Keys. Band lead Chrissie Hynde is said to originally have had Alone pegged as her followup to her 2014 album Stockholm but, after working with Auerbach, it turned into a full Pretenders release.

Although it has not been officially confirmed that the rest of the band, James Walbourne, Nick Wilkerson, Martin Chambers and Eric Heywood, were actively involved in the recording, it is known that a number of Nashville studio musicians have contributed to the set including Dave Roe (bass), Russ Pahl (pedal steel), Kenny Vaughan (guitar), Leon Michels (keyboardist) and Richard Swift (drums). There is also a guest appearance by Duane Eddy.

Here is the first single, Holy Commotion:

The track list:
  • Alone Song
  • Roadie Man
  • Gotta Wait
  • Never Be Together
  • Let's Get Lost
  • Chord Lord
  • Blue Eyed Sky
  • Be The Man That You Are
  • One More Day
  • I Hate Myself
  • Death Is Not Enough
  • Holy Commotion

No comments

Powered by Blogger.