Second Elvis Presley / Royal Philharmonic Orchestra Album Coming in October

by VVN Music

When the music of Elvis Presley was rereleased in 2015 with new orchestral arrangements performed by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, there were rumblings that it was just another way to cash in on the legacy of The King.

Then the sales started coming in.

While not a huge hit in the U.S., If I Can Dream was an international hit, especially in England where it was number 1 for two weeks, number 2 for seven weeks and the top ten for a total of 13 weeks.

On October 21, Sony/Legacy will return to the format with the release of The Wonder of You: Elvis Presley With the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. Once again, the album mixes some of Elvis' best known songs (Suspicious Minds, Don't, Kentucky Rain, Memories) with deeper catalog titles (I've Got a Thing About You Baby, Just Pretend, Starting Today) for a multi-genre trip through the catalog of one of rock's greatest artists.

Priscilla Presley, executive producer of the album, "Elvis always loved the great, operatic vocalists. We often talked about his interest in recording material that allowed him to perform in that space. It's exciting to hear him on these recordings, performing with the world-class Royal Philharmonic Orchestra via the magic of Abbey Road Studios. He would have loved these performances and I'm very happy that we were able to make this dream come true for Elvis and his fans."

Producer Nick Patrick said "As with the first time we stepped into this amazing world - it is the extraordinary intimacy of Elvis's vocal performances that is truly breathtaking. The exquisite and effortless way he takes us on an emotional journey with him through delicate sensitivity to power and grace all within a magical 3-minute song. It's a wonderful, wonderful privilege for which we are truly grateful."

Co-producer Don Reedman added "I believe we have made an album that is uplifting, sensitive, heart touching and fun – the way that Elvis was and still is to so many of us. His spirit has never left the building!"

In addition, for the first time, the Royal Philharmonic will be taking their Presley collaborations on the road on a six-date U.K. tour. The Orchestra will play the new arrangements of Elvis' music while vintage footage of Presley performing the song is projected above the stage.

The Wonder of You: Elvis Presley With the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra will be released on CD, 150g gatefold 2-LP set and in digital formats. A deluxe version, with two additional tracks, 2-LPs, a poster and a 12-page booklet, will be released on December 2.

The track list:
  • A Big Hunk O' Love
  • I've Got A Thing About You Baby
  • Suspicious Minds
  • Don't
  • I Just Can't Help Believin'
  • Just Pretend
  • Love Letters
  • Amazing Grace
  • Starting Today
  • Kentucky Rain
  • Memories
  • Let It Be Me
  • Always On My Mind
  • The Wonder Of You
  • Just Pretend [duet with Helene Fischer] (Bonus Track)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.