Loretta Lynn Sneaks New Christmas Album on the Schedule; First Holiday Release in 50 Years

by VVN Music

It took twelve years for Loretta Lynn to release her followup to the 2004 album Van Lear Rose. Full Circle came out in March and, just seven months later, she has another new set on the schedule with White Christmas Blue.

The new holiday album will be out on October 7 via Legacy Recordings and marks the first new Christmas album for Lynn in fifty years.  Loretta released Country Christmas in 1966.

Included are new versions of two original compositions (Country Christmas and To Heck with Ole Santa Claus) which first appeared on Country Christmas; soulful interpretations of traditional carols (Away in a Manger, O Come All Ye Faithful, Silent Night); in-the-moment contemporary takes on seasonal pop standards (Winter Wonderland, Frosty the Snowman, Jingle Bells, White Christmas) and the title track. The album concludes with Loretta's heartfelt recitation of the beloved seasonal story 'Twas the Night Before Christmas.

White Christmas Blue was recorded at Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, TN and was produced by Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash.

The track list:
  • White Christmas Blue
  • Country Christmas
  • Winter Wonderland
  • Away in a Manger
  • Blue Christmas
  • To Heck with Ole Santa Claus
  • Frosty the Snowman
  • Oh Come, All Ye Faithful
  • Jingle Bells
  • White Christmas
  • Silent Night
  • 'Twas the Night Before Christmas

No comments

Powered by Blogger.