Garth Brooks, Jerry Reed, Ricky Skaggs Among Musician's Hall of Fame Inductees

by VVN Music

Nashville's Musicians Hall of Fame, the organization that looks beyond the stars to the musicians and technicians that have made so much of a difference in music over the years, has announced their 2016 inductees.

Divided into several different categories, the new inductees will join a truly stellar lineup of Hall of Fame Members including The Funk Brothers, The Wrecking Crew, The Memphis Boys, The Tennessee Two, Al Kooper, Duane Eddy, Chet Atkins, Barbara Mandrell, Peter Frampton, Stevie Ray Vaughan and many others.

The new inductees are:
  • Garth Brooks and the G-Men (Bruce Bouton (steel guitar), Mark Casstevens (rhythm guitar), Mike Chapman (posthumously, bass), Rob Hajacos (fiddle), Chris Leuzinger (lead guitar), Milton Sledge (drums), Bobby Wood (keyboards))
  • Jerry Reed
  • Sigma Sound Studio Rhythm Section (Ronnie Baker (posthumously, guitar), Tommy Bell (keyboards), Charles Collins (drums), Bobby Eli (guitar), Dennis Harris (guitar), Norman Harris (posthumously, guitar), Vince Montana (posthumously, vibes), TJ Tindall (posthumously, guitar), Larry Washington (posthumously, congas), Jimmy Williams (bass), Earl Young (drums))
  • Ricky Skaggs
The G-Men have played on all of Brooks' studio albums whose sales have made him the second biggest selling album artist in history behind the Beatles.

The Sigma Sound Studio Rhythm Section played on many of the hits on the Philadelphia International label during the 70's.

The Engineering Award inductees:
  • Lou Bradley (Cherry Hill Park by Billy Joe Royal, Be Young, Be Foolish, Be Happy by the Tams)
  • Mark Miller (18 Wheels and a Dozen Roses by Kathy Mattea, Friends in Low Places and most albums by Garth Brooks)
  • Ron "Snake" Reynolds (A Very Special Love Song by Charlie Rich, He Stopped Loving Her Today by George Jones, The Woman in Me by Shania Twain)
  • Joe Tarsia (A Brand New Me by Dusty Springfield, To Know You Is to Love You by B.B. King, Life is a Song Worth Singing by Teddy Pendergrass)
The Producers award will go to Allen Reynolds whose productions include tracks by Crystal Gayle, Kathy Mattea and Garth Brooks. He also wrote the Vogues' hit Five O'Clock World.

The Iconic Riff Award will be awarded to Don Felder for his intro and solo in the Eagles' Hotel California.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.