Fourteen Named to the Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame

by VVN Music

Fourteen music and industry legends have been selected for induction into the Official Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame.

The Official Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame was founded in 2010 by Lamont "Showboat" Robinson, a former player and owner for the Harlem Clowns and player for the Harlem Road Kings. His love for R&B music over the years led him to collect memorabilia and artifacts of such quantity that he wanted to share them with the world. While he donated some to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, he realized that there were many artists who would never get their deserving honor in such a organization, which led him to look into an R&B specific organization.

The Hall's inductees are broken into three categories. Vocal groups and singers must have been recording in the R&B style for at least 25 years to be considered and only original members of the group, those that participated on the first recording by the artist, are initially considered for induction.  Later group members who have been active with them for 25 years or more are also considered.

Rhythm and Blues pioneers include performers who pre-date R&B but who had a significant impact on the style and artists. Non-performing influencers are also considered if they had a significant and lasting effect on the genre, including songwriters, producers, record company executives, agents, performers and DJs.

This year's inductees are:
  • Smokey Robinson
  • Prince
  • Fats Domino
  • Jimi Hendrix
  • Cathy Hughes (Founder of TVOne)
  • Dionne Warwick
  • Bobby Brown
  • Boosty Collins
  • Sam & Dave
  • Eddie Holman
  • Eddie Floyd
  • Bettye LaVette
  • The Vevelettes
  • The Supremes
That's a pretty impressive sleight, especially for the fourth class for the hall, so we went back to see who was previously inducted:

  • Freddie Arrington (Master of Ceremonies at Leo's Casino Nightclub)
  • James Brown
  • Call and Post (publication)
  • Chi-Lites
  • Sam Cooke
  • Larry Cotton (journalist)
  • Dazz Band Featuring Jerry Bell
  • Dramatics
  • Dynamic Superiors
  • Four Tops
  • Hesitations
  • Tom Joyner (DJ)
  • Leo's Casino (Historic venue)
  • Gerald Levert
  • Little Jimmy Scott
  • Tim Marshall (DJ)
  • Marvelettes
  • Ohio Players
  • O'Jays
  • Otis Redding
  • Ruby & the Romantics
  • David Ruffin
  • Slick, Sly & Wicked
  • Sounds of Unity and Love (S.O.U.L.)
  • Edwin Starr
  • Supremes
  • Temptations
  • Martha and the Vandellas
  • Kim Weston
  • Jackie Wilson
  • Clovers
  • Joe Jackson (Promoter, manager)
  • Michael Jackson
  • Whitney Houston
  • B.B. King
  • Gene Chandler
  • Whispers
  • Funk Brothers
  • Andantes
  • Sweet Inspirations
  • Marvin Gaye
  • Chubby Checker
  • Norm N. Nite (DJ)
  • Delfonics
  • Macy Gray
  • Elvis Presley
  • Little Richard
  • Millie Jackson
  • Bobby Rush
  • Bar-Kays
  • Sam & Dave
  • Al Bell
  • Ike Turner
  • Mad Lads
  • Stax Records
  • Dorothy Moore
  • Muddy Waters
  • Denise LaSalle
  • Little Junior Parker
  • WDIA (Radio station)
  • Spinners
  • Miracles
  • Johnnie Taylor
  • Hank Ballard & the Midnighters
  • Spyder Turner
  • Aretha Franklin
  • Jerry Butler
  • Ray Charles
  • Martha Reeves
  • Tony Clarke
  • Janie Bradford (songwriter)
  • Pat Lewis
  • Fabulous Peps
  • Donnie Simpson (DJ, TV host)
  • Jimmy Ruffin
  • Melba Moore
  • 20 Grand (nightclub)
  • Ortheia Barnes-Kennerly
The 2016 Induction Ceremony will be held at the Ford Performing Arts Theatre in Dearborn, MI on August 21. Mary Wilson will host.

The Official Rhythm and Blues Hall of Fame currently has a mobile museum and is seeking funds for a permanent building.


Anonymous said...

The Supremes were previously inducted. Is this year's induction for the Seventies Supremes?

george blair said...

No their website says it's a special "20th century award " for the original supremes. I was also hoping it was an induction for the 70's supremes!

Powered by Blogger.