Chicago Putting Out a 9-Blu-Ray Disc Box Set With Nine of Their First Ten Albums

Chicago, who were recently inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, are releasing a new box set for their audiophile fans.

The Chicago Quadio Box includes nine of the group's first ten albums (the live Chicago IV is not included) mastered both in quadraphonic and stereo. Housed in a rigid two-piece box, each album will be in a sleeve the replicates the original vinyl releases from the 70's and includes all of the inserts including mini posters and the iron-on that came with Chicago VIII. Release date for the set is June 17.

Formed in 1967 in the band's namesake city, Chicago is one of the longest-running and best-selling groups of all time. It's the first American band to ever chart albums in Billboard's Pop Top 40 in six consecutive decades, and is the highest charting American band in Billboard's Hot 200 All-Time Top Artists, earning the #9 spot. The group's extensive accomplishments include: a Grammy Award, multiple American Music Awards, 11 Number One singles, five consecutive Number One albums, and record sales in excess of 100,000,000, with 47 albums earning gold and platinum certification.

From its inception, through to the late 1970's, Chicago perfected the art of making melodic, jazz-tinged rock with a keen pop sensibility. On those early albums, the band was led by guitarist Terry Kath, keyboardist Robert Lamm, bassist Peter Cetera, drummer Danny Seraphine and Chicago's signature horn section: trumpeter, Lee Loughnane; trombonist, James Pankow; and saxophonist Walt Parazaider.

The albums included in the set:
  • Chicago Transit Authority (1969)
  • Chicago (1970)
  • Chicago III (1971)
  • Chicago V (1972)
  • Chicago VI (1973)
  • Chicago VII (1974)
  • Chicago VIII (1975)
  • Chicago IX: Chicago's Greatest Hits (1975)
  • Chicago X (1976)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.