Radiohead Takes Back Control of Their Catalog With Move to XL Recordings

by Paul Cashmere, Noise11

Radiohead’s pre-2004 recordings on Parlophone have been rebranded as XL Recordings on Spotify signalling a move for the band away from current home-base Warner Music.

XL Recordings is a UK independent company created by Richard Russell as on off-shot to his Beggars Banquet Record label and part of his bigger operation Beggars Group.

Thom Yorke’s solo album The Eraser came out through XL in 2006 as did the physical releases of Radiohead’s In Rainbows and King of Limbs. XL also released Yorke’s side-project Atoms For Peace Amok.

The six pre-2004 Radiohead albums Pablo Honey, The Bends, OK Computer, Kid A, Amnesiac and Hail To The Thief were released on Parlophone, at the time owned by EMI. Warner Music acquired Parlophone after EMI’s sale to Universal.

The reconfigured Radiohead releases on Spotify have been returned to the original album tracklisting with all bonus material from later reissues deleted. Radiohead never approved of the reissue formats of their catalogue by Parlophone and in moving to XL has taken back control of the content.

A statement from XL noted, “This is the first step in the transfer of Radiohead’s back catalogue from Parlophone to XL. The main albums are being made available in their original form as a start, before non-LP material is reconfigured.”

In October 2015 the five members of Radiohead formed a new company Dawn Chorus LLP, a common move by the collective before the release of the past two albums.

No comments

Powered by Blogger.