The Highwaymen to Get 3-CD/1-DVD Box Set of Live Performances

The Highwaymen, the country supergroup made up of Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson, Waylon Jennings and Kris Kristofferson, will be the subject of a new 3-CD/1-DVD collection of live material.

Releasing on May 20 via Columbia/Legacy, The Highwaymen Live: American Outlaws includes two audio discs recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York on March 14, 1990, an audio disc with tracks recorded live at various Farm Aid Festivals and a previously unreleased full-length concert film recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990 and transferred from the original film reels especially for this collection.

As an added bonus, The Highwaymen Live: American Outlaws debuts a previously unreleased recording of One Too Many Mornings, an alternate take of a Bob Dylan song which appeared on Heroes, a 1986 collaboration album by Johnny Cash and Waylon Jennings. The track's new incarnation on the album includes vocals recorded by Willie Nelson and Kris Kristofferson in 2014, produced by longtime Willie Nelson colleague and band member Mickey Raphael and remixed by Tony Castle.

The Highwaymen Live: American Outlaws compilation is produced by Mickey Raphael from original recordings produced by Chips Moman. The box set includes a booklet featuring revelatory new liner notes penned by noted music scholar and journalist Mikal Gilmore.

Columbia/Legacy will also release a new single disc compilation, The Very Best of The Highwaymen.

The Highwaymen: Live At Nassau Coliseum (a special broadcast edit of the concert film featured on the new set) is part of special programming premiering on PBS stations as part of June Pledge 2016 (check local listings).

Waylon Jennings said in his autobiography "There's the four of us standing there, grouped around microphones. The Highwaymen. John, Kris, Willie, and me. I don't think there are any other four people like us. John says that we came together because we all have a life commitment to the music. We know the same songs, but we sing them from different perspectives. We can blend the early country of the Carter Family with Texas swing, southern gospel, and rockabilly, and each of us feels comfortable singing real slices of life. There's not one of us who hasn't come face to face with his own mortality, and many's the time we've gone through our struggles and survivals together....That's our friendship, unlocking any door that stands between us, and it keeps four very different individuals together."

The track list:

Disc 1 (Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990 - Part 1)
  • Mystery Train
  • Highwayman
  • Mamas Don't Let Your Babies Grow Up To Be Cowboys
  • Good Hearted Woman
  • Trouble Man
  • Amanda
  • There Ain't No Good Chain Gang
  • Ring Of Fire
  • Folsom Prison Blues
  • Blue Eyes Crying In The Rain
  • Sunday Morning Coming Down
  • Help Me Make It Through The Night
  • The Best Of All Possible Worlds
  • Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again)
  • City Of New Orleans
  • Always On My Mind
  • Me And Bobby McGee
Disc 2 (Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990 - Part 1)
  • Silver Stallion
  • The Last Cowboy Song
  • Two Stories Wide
  • Living Legend
  • The Pilgrim: Chapter 33
  • They Killed Him
  • I Still Miss Someone
  • Ragged Old Flag
  • (Ghost) Riders In The Sky
  • Are You Sure Hank Done It This Way
  • Night Life
  • The King Is Gone (So Are You)
  • Desperados Waiting For A Train
  • Big River
  • A Boy Named Sue
  • Why Me
  • Luckenbach, Texas
  • On The Road Again
Disk 3
  • Farm Aid V, Texas Stadium, Irving, Texas, March 14, 1992
    • Mystery Train
    • Highwayman
    • The King Is Gone (So Are You)
    • I've Always Been Crazy
    • The Best Of All Possible Worlds
    • City Of New Orleans
    • Folsom Prison Blues
  • Farm Aid VI, Cyclone Stadium, Ames, Iowa, April 24, 1993
    • Intro/Highwayman
    • Shipwrecked In The Eighties
    • Desperados Waiting For A Train
  • One Too Many Mornings (Previously Unreleased)
  • Concert Recorded live at Nassau Coliseum, Uniondale, New York, March 14, 1990 - Running time: approx. 2 hours 39 minutes

1 comment

GP Calendar said...

Weekend is the time to relax and have fun with peers and family. Discover Night Clubs and Grande Prairie Night Life. Join the late night party spot, with rotating DJ's on the weekends. Thanks for the post.

Powered by Blogger.