Dexys to Release New Irish Based Album "Let The Record Show Dexys Do Irish and Country Soul"

Dexys, formerly known as Dexys Midnight Runners, have announced a new album for release on June 3, Let The Record Show Dexys Do Irish and Country Soul.

The new LP is made up of songs that lead Kevin Rowland has said he has wanted to do since the mid-80's. Produced by Rowland and Sean Read, the album contains a mix of traditional Irish songs and new compositions.

Rowland explained "We had the idea to do this album in 1984 or 1985. It was to be called Irish and was to feature songs like Carrickfergus, Curragh of Kildare and Women Of Ireland, all of which are featured here. Dexys broke up not too long afterwards, so it didn’t happen.

"Over the years, I would often think about it. The idea of it never went away. I can recall 10 or 12 years ago thinking, for example, ‘If I do Carrickfergus, I can try this or that.’ Or maybe we can do You Wear it Well, as the brief had expanded from solely consisting of Irish songs, to songs I’ve always loved and wanted to record. The album was always at the back of my mind. Then just as we were getting ready to record One Day I’m Going To Soar, I had an inspirational bolt from the blue, a strong clear feeling that this album should be our next project.

"The album is called Dexys DO Irish & Country Soul: DO it, not BECOME it. We’re not trying to be Irish, and we haven’t used too many Celtic instruments on there. It’s our sound. We’re bringing our style to these songs. I’m just a guy who follows my intuition, my inspiration. This really felt like the right thing to do. We have put probably more care and attention into these songs than we might have done with our own songs, because the odds were high. It was important to get them right, and make sure every one of them felt relevant to us."

Dexys Midnight Runners were originally formed in 1978 and released their first album, Searching For the Young Soul Rebels in 1980 which included the number 1 British hit Geno. It was their second album, 1982's Too-Rye-Ay, that brought them international stardom as Come On Eileen went to number 1 in the U.S., U.K., Ireland and Australia. While it was their only U.S. hit (The Celtic Soul Brothers hit 86 in 1983), they remained popular in Britain where they also had hits with Van Morrison's Jackie Wilson Said (I'm in Heaven When You Smile) (1982 / #5 U.K.), Because of You (1986 / #13 U.K.) and others.

The band disbanded in 1987 after just three albums and, after a failed return of the band in 1993, they formally reformed in 2003 and issued the album One Day I'm Going to Soar in 2012.

The track list:
  • Women Of Ireland
  • To Love Somebody
  • Smoke Gets In Your Eyes
  • Curragh Of Kildare
  • I'll Take You Home Kathleen
  • You Wear It Well
  • 40 Shades Of Green
  • How Do I Live
  • Grazing In The Grass
  • The Town I Loved So Well
  • Both Sides Now
  • Carrickfergus

No comments

Powered by Blogger.