Ritchie Blackmore States He Was Banned From Hall of Fame Ceremony; Deep Purple Says That's Not So

Now that we may finally have the Chicago vs. Peter Cetera situation with induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame settled it looks like Deep Purple vs. Ritchie Blackmore may be the next fight on the card.

Blackmore is one of eight members of Deep Purple during their Mk. III and IV eras that have been selected for induction but he stated this morning that he will not be attending:
Rock and Roll Hall of Fame update

Ritchie was honored by the offer of induction to the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. He was discussing the possibility of attending, until we received correspondence from the President of the Rock Hall of Fame, who said that Bruce Payne, management for the current Deep Purple Touring Band, had said "No"..........!!!!!"

Therefore Ritchie will not be attending the ceremony. He sincerely thanks all the fans that voted for him for their support.
Blackmore's statement led to an almost immediate response from long time band member Ian Gillan who said that all are welcome but he made an agreement with the Rock Hall that, after the eight selected members gave their acceptance speeches, the current version of Deep Purple would perform.
It should be stressed that there is no slight intended nor any desire to upset anyone regarding this decision; it is purely a mark of respect to Steve and Don. I spoke with David Coverdale last week and he expressed complete understanding of the way it was being handled; thanks David you're a Gent. Outside of this event there are no circumstances under which a 'reunion' could or would take place. So, let's all get up there, shake hands, smile for the cameras and get it done with dignity and respect for all the existing and past members of a very special family.
The members of Deep Purple being inducted are Ritchie Blackmore, David Coverdale, Rod Evans, Ian Gillan, Roger Glover, Glenn Hughes, Jon Lord and Ian Paice.

Paice, Glover and Gillan are all in the current lineup of Deep Purple along with Steve Morse, who has been the guitarist since 1994, and Don Airey, keyboard player since 2002. It has been noted that the current lineup is the longest together of any Deep Purple band and Paice, Glover and Gillan were unhappy that Morse and Airey not included in those being inducted as they were about original bass player Nick Simper who was with the band in 1968 and 1969.

1 comment

Barbie Chiu said...

Thanks for sharing your article and for giving us the chance to read it. It is very helpful and encouraging. Visit my site too.



Powered by Blogger.