Cyndi Lauper's Throwback Country Album Out on May 6

Cyndi Lauper's new album, Detour, is an apt description of the direction her career is taking.

After years of great pop and rock music and a foray onto the Broadway stage, Cyndi is taking on country music, but not the homogenized pop country of today. She's reaching back to the country music of the 40's, 50's and 60's.

The selection of the songs for the album was a labor of love for Lauper. "When I was a really young kid, country music was pop music, so this is what I grew up listening to. These songs are part of my earliest memories."

Among the songs covered are Wanda Jackson's Funnel of Love, which is the first single on the album, Patsy Cline's Walkin' After Midnight and I Fall to Pieces, Skeeter Davis' End of the World, Ray Price's Heartaches by the Numbers and Willie Nelson's Night Life with Willie dueting with Cyndi.

Other guests on the album include Emmylou Harris, Vince Gill, Jewel and Alison Krauss.

One song does fall outside the timeframe of the 40's through the 60's. Lauper includes Hard Candy Christmas, which she released last holiday season, a song from the 1978 Broadway show The Best Little Whorehouse in Texas. The song was later sung by Dolly Parton in the film version of the show.

The track list for the album:
  • Funnel Of Love
  • Detour (with Emmylou Harris)
  • Misty Blue
  • Walkin’ After Midnight
  • Heartaches By The Number
  • The End Of The World
  • Night Life (with Willie Nelson)
  • Begging To You
  • You’re The Reason Our Kids Are Ugly (with Vince Gill)
  • I Fall To Pieces
  • I Want To Be A Cowboy’s Sweetheart (with Jewel)
  • Hard Candy Christmas (with Alison Krauss)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.