James Harman Leads Blues Music Awards Nominations With Five; Anthony Geraci & Sugaray Rayford Have Four

The Blues Foundation have announced the nominations for the 37th annual Blues Music Awards which will be given on Thursday, May 5 at the Cook Convention Center in Memphis, TN.

Veteran bluesman James Harman leads the nominations with four, Best Song, Best Album, Best Traditional Blues Album, Best Traditional Male Blues Artist and Best Instrumentalist (Harmonica).

Anthony Geraci, who has played with the likes of B.B. King, Chuck Berry and Big Mama Thornton and was an original member of both Sugar Ray and the Bluetones, and Ronnie Earl and the Broadcasters, is up for four, Best Song, Best Album, Best Traditional Blues Album and the Pinetop Perkins Piano Player.

Also up for four is modern artist Sugaray Rayford, for Contemporary Blues Album, Contemporary Blues Male Artist, Best Song and B.B. King Entertainer.

Cedric Burnside and Shemekia Copeland along with Doug MacLeod, The Cash Box Kings, Victor Wainwright and Wee Willie Walker each received three nominations.

The nominees (veteran artists in bold):

B.B. King Entertainer of the Year
  • John NĂ©meth
  • Rick Estrin
  • Shemekia Copeland
  • Sugaray Rayford
  • Victor Wainwright
  • Fifty Shades of Blue - Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars
  • Born to Play Guitar - Buddy Guy
  • Bonetime - James Harman
  • Holding Court - The Cash Box Kings    
  • If Nothing Ever Changes - Wee Willie Walker 
  • Bad Feet/Bad Hair written and performed by James Harman
  • Fifty Shades of Blue written by Anthony Geraci and performed by Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars
  • Gonna Live Again written and performed by Walter Trout
  • Southside of Town written by Sugaray Rayford and & Ralph Carter and performed by Sugaray Rayford
  • You Got It Good (and That Ain't Bad) written and performed by Doug MacLeod
  • Andy T - Nick Nixon Band
  • Rick Estrin & the Nightcats
  • Sugar Ray & the Bluetones
  • The Cash Box Kings
  • Victor Wainwright & the Wild Roots
Best New Artist Album
  • One at a Time - Eddie Cotton 
  • Way Down South - Igor Prado Band 
  • Blues in Good Hands - Mighty Mike Schermer 
  • The Blues Child - Mr. Sipp 
  • Feel These Blues - Slam Allen 
Historical Album
  • The Henry Gray/Bob Corritore Sessions, Vol. 1, Blues Won't Let Me Take My Rest on Delta Groove Records
  • Hawk Squat by J. B. Hutto & His Hawks on Delmark Records
  • Southside Blues Jam by Junior Wells on Delmark Records
  • Buzzin' the Blues by Slim Harpo on Bear Family Records
  • Dynamite! The Unsung King of the Blues by Tampa Red on Ace Records
Acoustic Artist
  • Doug MacLeod
  • Eric Bibb
  • Gaye Adegbalola
  • Guy Davis
  • Ian Siegal
Acoustic Album
  • Exactly Like This - Doug MacLeod 
  • The Acoustic Blues & Roots of Duke Robillard - Duke Robillard
  • Blues People - Eric Bibb 
  • Kokomo Kidd - Guy Davis 
  • The Ragpicker String Band - The Ragpicker String Band 
Contemporary Blues Female Artist
  • Beth Hart
  • Karen Lovely
  • Nikki Hill
  • Samantha Fish
  • Shemekia Copeland
Contemporary Blues Male Artist
  • Brandon Santini
  • Eugene Hideaway Bridges
  • Jarekus Singleton
  • Joe Louis Walker
  • Sugaray Rayford 
Contemporary Blues Album
  • Born to Play Guitar - Buddy Guy
  • Hold on a Little Bit Longer - Eugene Hideaway Bridges
  • Outskirts of Love - Shemekia Copeland
  • Bound by the Blues - Sonny Landreth
  • Southside - Sugaray Rayford
Rock Blues Album
  • Muddy Wolf at Red Rocks - Joe Bonamassa 
  • Everybody Wants a Piece - Joe Louis Walker 
  • Don't Look Back - Royal Southern Brotherhood 
  • Tough Love - Tinsley Ellis 
  • Battle Scars - Walter Trout 
Soul Blues Female Artist
  • Bettye LaVette
  • Dorothy Moore
  • Missy Anderson
  • Toni Lynn Washington
  • Vaneese Thomas
Soul Blues Male Artist
  • Frank Bey 
  • Jackie Payne
  • Johnny Rawls
  • Otis Clay
  • Wee Willie Walker
Soul Blues Album
  • Not Goin' Away - Bey Paule Band 
  • This Time for Real - Billy Price & Otis Clay 
  • I Saw the Blues - Jackie Payne 
  • Day into Night - Tad Robinson 
  • If Nothing Ever Changes - Wee Willie Walker 
Koko Taylor Award (Traditional Blues Female Artist)
  • Diunna Greenleaf
  • Fiona Boyes
  • Ruthie Foster
  • Trudy Lynn
  • Zora Young
Traditional Blues Male Artist
  • Cedric Burnside
  • Dave Alvin & Phil Alvin
  • James Harman
  • Jimmy Burns
  • John Primer
Traditional Blues Album
  • Numbers Man - Andy T - Nick Nixon Band 
  • Fifty Shades of Blue - Anthony Geraci & the Boston Blues All-Stars 
  • Descendants of Hill Country - Cedric Burnside Project 
  • Bonetime - James Harman 
  • Holding Court - The Cash Box Kings 
Pinetop Perkins Piano Player
  • Allen Toussaint
  • Anthony Geraci
  • Barrelhouse Chuck
  • John Ginty
  • Victor Wainwright
Instrumentalist - Bass
  • Charlie Wooton
  • Lisa Mann
  • Michael "Mudcat" Ward
  • Patrick Rynn
  • Willie J. Campbell
Instrumentalist - Drums
  • Cedric Burnside
  • Jimi Bott
  • June Core
  • Tom Hambridge
  • Tony Braunagel
Instrumentalist - Guitar
  • Anson Funderburgh
  • Kid Andersen
  • Monster Mike Welch
  • Ronnie Earl
  • Sonny Landreth
Instrumentalist - Harmonica
  • Billy Branch
  • Brandon Santini
  • James Harman
  • Jason Ricci
  • Kim Wilson
Instrumentalist - Horn
  • Al Basile
  • Doug James
  • Kaz Kazanoff
  • Sax Gordon
  • Terry Hanck

No comments

Powered by Blogger.