Carpenters Special to Air Saturday on PBS; "Complete Singles" 3-CD Set

On Saturday December 5, the public television series My Music will present Close To You: Remembering The Carpenters, airing on Public Television stations nationwide (see your local listings).

A look back at the lives and musical arc of the beloved brother-and-sister songwriting duo, the film stands as a testament to their enduring musical legacy. Featuring rare performances and extensive archival footage, this remastered documentary celebrates the timeless appeal of the Carpenters' unique sound, from Karen's warmly expressive voice to Richard's diverse talents as arranger, producer, pianist and composer. During their career, the duo was the recipient of three Grammy Awards, including Best New Artist of 1970, an American Music Award and over 20 gold records. Remembrances from friends and colleagues Herb Alpert, Burt Bacharach, Petula Clark and Paul Williams are also included.

TJL Productions' My Music series is proud to bring this program back to public television audiences. "Hearing Karen's intimate voice is like listening to our own inner voice, the music she and Richard made expresses every emotion we go through in this life," says TJ Lubinsky, the series’ Executive Producer. "I felt that bringing the heartwarming story of the Carpenters to public television will help now for new generations to discover and us older fans to reflect on their extraordinary work.” recently premiered a previously unreleased video of The Carpenter's smash hit For All We Know. The song was a million-selling single for the duo in 1971, the same year they won their third Grammy Award for Best Pop Vocal Performance by A Duo Or Group. Reflecting on the song, Richard Carpenter observes, "For All We Know works beautifully for Karen's alto, our background harmonies and the fluid electric bass playing of Joe Osborn. The recording is as fresh to me in 2015 as it was in 1970." The video is currently streaming here.

Made available as part of this television event, Carpenters – The Complete Singles is a new 3-CD box set that presents, for the first time in one collection, every A and B-side released in the United States on A&M Records between 1969 and 1989 in the form of their original single version. Included are timeless hits such as Top of The World, For All We Know, Superstar and Close To You, as well as signature covers Ticket to Ride and Please Mr. Postman. With 66 tracks in total, the collection will be made exclusively available as a gift for viewers who make a pledge of support to their public television channel. Copies of the CD set are available for review.

Additionally, a DVD of the Close To You special will be offered as a public television exclusive, with 60 minutes of extras including complete song performances from the duo, expanded from the documentary. Also included is The Carpenters at The White House featurette, shot when President Nixon was in office, other rare songs and footage and a stunning rendition of Karen and Richard performing Ave Maria.

The track list for Carpenters – The Complete Singles:

Disk 1
  • Ticket to Ride
  • Your Wonderful Parade
  • (They Long to Be) Close to You
  • I Kept On Loving You
  • We’ve Only Just Begun
  • All of My Life
  • Merry Christmas Darling
  • Mr. Guder
  • For All We Know
  • Don’t Be Afraid
  • Rainy Days and Mondays
  • Saturday
  • Superstar
  • Bless the Beasts and Children
  • Hurting Each Other
  • Maybe It’s You
  • It’s Going to Take Some Time
  • Flat Baroque
  • Goodbye to Love
  • Crystal Lullaby
  • Sing
  • Druscilla Penny
  • Yesterday Once More
  • Road Ode 
  • Top of the World 
  • Heather
Disc 2
  • I Won’t Last a Day Without You
  • One Love
  • Please Mr. Postman
  • This Masquerade
  • Santa Claus is Coming to Town
  • Only Yesterday
  • Happy
  • Solitaire
  • Love Me for What I Am
  • There’s a Kind of Hush (All Over the World)
  • (I’m Caught Between) Goodbye and I Love You
  • I Need to Be in Love
  • Sandy
  • Goofus
  • Boat to Sail
  • All You Get from Love is a Love Song
  • I Have You
  • Calling Occupants of Interplanetary Craft
  • Can’t Smile Without You
  • Sweet, Sweet Smile
  • The Christmas Song
Disc 3
  • I Believe You
  • B’wana She No Home
  • Touch Me When We’re Dancing
  • Because We Are in Love
  • (Want You) Back in My Life Again
  • Somebody’s Been Lyin’
  • Those Good Old Dreams
  • When It’s Gone (It’s Just Gone)
  • Beechwood 4-5789
  • Two Sides
  • Don’t Cry for Me Argentina
  • Make Believe It’s Your First Time
  • Look to Your Dreams
  • Your Baby Doesn’t Love You Anymore
  • Sailing on the Tide
  • Honolulu City Lights
  • I Just Fall in Love Again
  • If I Had You
  • The Uninvited Guest

No comments

Powered by Blogger.