Jeff Buckley's Earliest Recordings to Be Released

Jeff Buckley, who is considered one of the great voices by Rolling Stone magazine, had his life tragically cut short in a 1997 swimming accident after recording just one, classic album.

Buckley, the son of folk singer Tim Buckley, had a fairly fast ascendancy in the music world. He performed in public for the first time at a tribute to his father in April 1991. He began playing in clubs around the New York area the next year and, by that summer, was signed to a three-album deal with Columbia Records. In February of 1993, he went in the studio with Steve Addabbo and Steve Berkowitz to start recording material but much of that session has been in Columbia's vaults, until now.

While researchers were rooting through the Columbia archives looking for material for a twentieth anniversary edition of Grace, Buckley's only album, they found those original recordings which will be turned into You and I, set for a March 11 release.

Adam Block, president of Legacy Recordings, said "As we began to explore how we might celebrate the 20th anniversary of Jeff Buckley's Grace, the vault -- as it still occasionally and unexpectedly will -- presented us with an unbelievable gift: this "lost" cache of studio recordings from the period. We quickly realized how remarkable they were. They offer an incredible, rare glimpse of an artist, alone, in the sacred space that is the studio. There's an intimacy and an honesty to the performances that's literally breathtaking. You & I is an important addition to Jeff's recorded legacy and will be a thrill for both his devoted longtime fans and newcomers alike."

This is the Jeff Buckley that used to play an eclectic mix of music at the clubs around New York. Eight of the ten cuts are covers from folk (Bob Dylan) to blues (Bukka White) to rock (Led Zeppelin, the Smiths) to soul (Sly & the Family Stone) to gospel (Jevetta Stone).

Also included are two originals, an early version of the song Grace and the previously unreleased Dream of You and I.

The track list with original, influencing recording artist):
  • Just Like A Woman (Bob Dylan)
  • Everyday People (Sly & The Family Stone)
  • Don’t Let The Sun Catch You Cryin’ (Louis Jordan)
  • Grace
  • Calling You (Jevetta Steele)
  • Dream Of You And I
  • The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (The Smiths)
  • Poor Boy Long Way From Home (Bukka White)
  • Night Flight (Led Zeppelin)
  • I Know It’s Over (The Smiths)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.