Keith Urban Up For Four CMA Awards; Bob Dylan for Song; George Strait For Entertainer of the Year

The nominations have been announced for the 47th Annual CMA Awards to be held on Wednesday, November 6. The show will be broadcast on ABC from the Bridgestone Arena in Nashville.

Taylor Swift and newcomer Kacey Musgraves lead the way with six nominations each followed by Miranda Lambert (three on her own and two with the Pistol Annies) and Blake Shelton with five and Florida Georgia Line and Keith Urban with four each.

George Strait became the all-time leader in nominations as his Entertainer of the Year nod is his 82nd, breaking a tie with Alan Jackson. In total, Strait has been nominated for the Entertainer award eighteen times and has won it twice, in 1989 and 1990.

Bob Dylan received his first CMA nomination for writing the song Wagon Wheel which is nominated for Song of the Year with co-writer Ketch Secor of Old Crow Medicine Show, along with Single of the Year for the recording by Darius Rucker.

Other veteran artists nominated include Vince Gill, for his collaboration with Kelly Clarkson, and all five nominees for Musician of the Year.

The nomination list (veteran artists highlighted):

Entertainer of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan
  • Blake Shelton
  • George Strait
  • Taylor Swift

Male Vocalist of the Year

  • Jason Aldean
  • Luke Bryan
  • Eric Church
  • Blake Shelton
  • Keith Urban

Female Vocalist of the Year

  • Kelly Clarkson
  • Miranda Lambert
  • Kacey Musgraves
  • Taylor Swift
  • Carrie Underwood

Vocal Group of the Year

  • The Band Perry
  • Zac Brown Band
  • Lady Antebellum
  • Little Big Town
  • Eli Young Band

Vocal Duo of the Year

  • Big & Rich
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Love and Theft
  • Sugarland
  • The Civil Wars
  • Thompson Square

New Artist Of The Year

  • Lee Brice
  • Brett Eldredge
  • Florida Georgia Line
  • Kip Moore
  • Kacey Musgraves

Album of the Year

  • Based on a True Story - Blake Shelton
  • Blown Away - Carrie Underwood
  • Red - Taylor Swift
  • Same Trailer Different Park - Kacey Musgraves
  • Tornado - Little Big Town

Single of the Year

  • Cruise - Florida Georgia Line
  • Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw With Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
  • Mama's Broken Heart - Miranda Lambert
  • Merry Go 'Round - Kacey Musgraves
  • Wagon Wheel - Darius Rucker

Song of the Year (Songwriter's Award)

  • I Drive Your Truck - Jessi Alexander, Connie Harrington, and Jimmy Yeary
  • Mama's Broken Heart - Brandy Clark, Shane McAnally, and Kacey Musgraves
  • Merry Go 'Round - Kacey Musgraves, Josh Osborne, and Shane McAnally
  • Pontoon - Natalie Hemby, Luke Laird, and Barry Dean
  • Wagon Wheel - Bob Dylan and Ketch Secor

Musical Event of the Year

  • Boys 'Round Here - Blake Shelton Featuring Pistol Annies
  • Cruise - Florida Georgia Line Featuring Nelly
  • Don't Rush - Kelly Clarkson Featuring Vince Gill
  • Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw With Taylor Swift & Keith Urban
  • The Only Way I Know - Jason Aldean With Luke Bryan and Eric Church

Music Video of the Year

  • Blown Away - Carrie Underwood
  • Boys 'Round Here - Blake Shelton Feat. Pistol Annies
  • Downtown - Lady Antebellum
  • Highway Don't Care - Tim McGraw
  • Mama's Broken Heart - Miranda Lambert
  • Tornado - Little Big Town

Musician of the Year

  • Brent Mason - Guitar
  • Dann Huff - Guitar
  • Mac McAnally - Guitar
  • Paul Franklin - Steel Guitar
  • Sam Bush - Mandolin

No comments

Powered by Blogger.