Set List: Songwriter's Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony

Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith, Mick Jones and Lou Gramm of Foreigner, J.D. Souther, Tony Hatch and Holly Knight were inducted into the Songwriter's Hall of Fame on Thursday night at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York. Special awards also went to Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Berry Gordy, Benny Blanco and Sam Cooke's classic song A Change is Gonna Come.

Along with presentations for each of the honorees and acceptance speeches, the night included performances from a host of artists saluting the long list of hits that they have produced.
  • Johnny Mercer Award to Elton John and Bernie Taupin
    • Saturday Night's Alright For Fighting - Sting
  • Induction of Tony Hatch
    • Medley: My Love / Call Me / Forget Him / I Couldn't Live Without Your Love / Don't Sleep in the Subway / I Know a Place - Tony Hatch
    • Downtown - Petula Clark
  • Induction of Holly Knight
    • The Warrior - Patty Smythe
    • Love is a Battlefield - Holly Knight
  • Induction of Lou Gramm and Mick Jones (by Billy Joel)
    • Juke Box Hero - Lou Gramm and Mick Jones
    • I Want to Know What Love Is - Lou Gramm and Mick Jones with Anthony Morgan's Inspirational Choir of Harlem
  • Salute to Hal David
    • Anyone Who Had a Heart - Shelea
  • Salute to Phil Ramone
  • Hal David Starlight Award to Benny Blanco
    • Work Hard, Play Hard - Wiz Khalifa
  • Towering Song Award
    • A Change is Gonna Come - Jordan Sparks
  • Induction of J.D. Souther
    • Faithless Love - Alison Krauss
  • Induction of Steven Tyler and Joe Perry
    • Sweet Emotion - Chad Kroeger and Ryan Peake
    • Walk This Way - Steven Tyler and Joe Perry
  • Pioneer Award to Berry Gordy
    • Medley: Get Ready / I Can't Help Myself / Dancing in the Streets - Cast of Motown: The Musical

No comments

Powered by Blogger.