The Beatles' Let It Be...Naked Makes iTunes Debut

The Beatles' 2003 album, Let It Be...Naked, makes its debut today on iTunes in a continuation of their exclusive deal with the digital retailer.

Let It Be...Naked presents the Beatles final release (although not final recordings as Abbey Road was the actual last time the band was in the studio) in their original stripped down versions from the studio before Phil Spector came in and added large productions to each of the tracks. Paul McCartney oversaw the project, feeling that the Spector additions were not the original intentions of the four members of the band. Also removed from this version was the studio chatter that was found on the original album.

The Naked version of the album resets the running order of the songs to the original concept and moves the lead vocals and drums to the center of the mix. Removed are two tracks from the original, the Liverpool folk song Maggie Mae and the improvisational Dig It. In other cases, like the Long and Winding Road, the entire   take was changed to one with which most are unfamiliar.

Added to the 2003 was Don't Let Me Down, originally the b-side of the 1969 hit Get Back but never before on a regular studio album. Added for this new iTunes version is about 20 minutes of studio banter, historic photographs and transcribed excerpts from The Beatles’ studio dialogue which first appeared in the original LP package for Let It Be.

Paul McCartney said of his work "If we’d had today’s technology back then, it would sound like this because this is the noise we made in the studio. It’s all exactly as it was in the room. You’re right there now."

Ringo Starr commented "When I first heard it, it was really uplifting. It took you back to the times when we were this band, the Beatle band."

The track list:
  • Get Back
  • Dig A Pony
  • For You Blue
  • The Long And Winding Road
  • Two Of Us
  • I’ve Got A Feeling
  • One After 909
  • Don’t Let Me Down
  • I Me Mine
  • Across The Universe
  • Let It Be

No comments

Powered by Blogger.