Nominees Announced For the Fifth Annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards; Metallica, Rob Zombie & Tony Iommi to Be Honored

Revolver, the hard rock and metal magazine, have announced the nominees for the 5th Annual Revolver Golden Gods Awards.

Three groups shared the most nominations with four each. Soundgarden is nominated for Album of the Year (King Animal), Comeback of the Year, Vocalist (Chris Cornell) and Guitarist (Kim Thayil). The Deftones received nods for Album of the Year (Koi No Yokan), Vocalist (Chino Moreno), Guitarist (Stephen Carpenter) and Drummer (Abe Cunningham) while Halestorm is up for Album of the Year (The Strange Case of...), Song of the Year (Love Bites (So Do I)), Vocalist (Lzzy Hale) and Drummer (Arejay Hale).

Of the veteran artists, Rush led the way as all three individual members are nominated, Alex Lifeson for Guitar, Geddy Lee for Bass and Neil Peart for Drums.

Special awards were also announced with Metallica receiving the Ronnie James Dio Lifetime Achievement Award, Tony Iommi of Black Sabbath named for the Riff Lord Award and the Golden God Award going to Rob Zombie.

The Revolver Golden Gods Awards will be presented on Thursday, May 2 at Club Nokia in Los Angeles with host Chris Jericho and performances by Metallica, Five Finger Death Punch, Anthrax, Stone Sour, Dillinger Escape Plan and Halestorm. The show will be broadcast live on AXS TV, Xbox LIVE and Facebook.

ALBUM OF THE YEAR presented by Orange Amplification
  • Koi No Yokan - Deftones
  • L’Enfant Sauvage - Gojira
  • The Strange Case of… - Halestorm
  • Born Villain - Marilyn Manson
  • King Animal - Soundgarden
  • House of Gold & Bones Part 1 - Stone Sour
  • Run Free - Asking Alexandria
  • Carry On - Avenged Sevenfold
  • In The End - Black Veil Brides
  • I Ejaculate Fire - Dethklok
  • Love Bites (So Do I) - Halestorm
  • Blood - In This Moment
BEST LIVE BAND presented by Samson/Zoom
  • Anthrax
  • Five Finger Death Punch
  • Hatebreed
  • Lamb of God
  • Slipknot
  • Volbeat
  • Aerosmith
  • The Darkness
  • Quicksand
  • Refused
  • Soundgarden
  • Tenacious D
  • Device
  • Ghost
  • Kvelertak
  • Miss May I
  • Of Mice & Men
  • Young Guns
BEST VOCALIST presented by Rockstar Energy Drink
  • Phil Anselmo (Down & solo)
  • Maria Brink (In This Moment)
  • Chris Cornell (Soundgarden)
  • Lzzy Hale (Halestorm)
  • Chino Moreno (Deftones)
  • Corey Taylor (Stone Sour & Slipknot)
BEST GUITARIST presented by Epiphone
  • John 5 (Rob Zombie & solo)
  • Stephen Carpenter (Deftones)
  • Alex Lifeson (Rush)
  • Misha Mansoor (Periphery)
  • Brendon Small (Dethklok)
  • Kim Thayil (Soundgarden)
BEST DRUMMER presented by Drum Workshop
  • Abe Cunningham (Deftones)
  • Mario Duplantier (Gojira)
  • Arejay Hale (Halestorm)
  • Gene Hoglan (Dethklok & Testament)
  • Roy Mayorga (Stone Sour)
  • Neil Peart (Rush)
PAUL GRAY BEST BASSIST presented by Dean Markley
  • Rex Brown (Kill Devil Hill)
  • Steve Harris (Iron Maiden & solo)
  • Lemmy Kilmister (Motörhead)
  • Geddy Lee (Rush)
  • Jason Newsted (Newsted)
  • Sergio Vega (Deftones)
  • Black Label Society
  • Black Veil Brides
  • A Day To Remember
  • HIM
  • Rammstein
  • Slipknot
MOST METAL ATHLETE presented by Roadrunner Records
  • Tom Crabtree (Green Bay Packers, NFL)
  • Tanner Faust (Rally and drifting car racing)
  • Clay Guida (Mixed Martial Arts fighting, UFC)
  • Triple H (WWE wrestling)
  • Geoff Rowley (Skateboarding)
  • CJ Wilson (Los Angeles Angels of Anaheim, MLB)

No comments

Powered by Blogger.