Preview: 50 Tracks For 50 Years: The Golden Jubilee Album - the Seekers

Artist: Seekers
Title: 50 Tracks For 50 Years: The Golden Jubilee Album
Release Date: November 16, 2012
Label: EMI
Format(s): 2-CDs, DD

There are a number of major 50th anniversaries in 2012. The Rolling Stones hit the mark (unless you talk to Keith Richards who feels it's next year) as did the James Bond franchise.

December 3, 2012 will mark the 50th anniversary of Judith Durham, Keith Potger, Bruce Woodley and Athol Guy first singing together as The Seekers.

To mark the 50th anniversary EMI will release The Golden Jubilee Album featuring two new songs. The Seekers recorded Silver Threads and Golden Needles and In My Life in mid-2012.

The Beatles In My Life was almost recorded by the band back in 1967. It was considered for the Seen In Green album. Silver Threads And Golden Needles was first recorded by Wanda Jackson in 1956 and was also a UK and Australian hit for The Springfields in 1962. Linda Ronstadt also covered the song in 1969 and had a Top 20 country hit in the USA with it.

The group scored four Hot 100 hits in the U.S., I'll Never Find Another You (1965/#4), A World of Our Own (1965/#19), Georgy Girl (1967/#2) and Morningtown Ride (1967/#44).

EMI will release The Seekers The Golden Jubilee Album on November 16, 2012. At this time, it will only be available in the U.S. via import.

Track List:

Disc 1
  • Silver Threads And Golden Needles
  • In My Life
  • Massachusetts
  • Gotta Love Someone
  • The Bush Girl
  • Calling Me Home
  • Guardian Angel/Guiding Light
  • Forever Isn’t Long Enough (For Me)
  • The Shores Of Avalon
  • Far Shore
  • I Am Australian (Live)
  • Keep A Dream In Your Pocket
  • Days Of My Life
  • When Will The Good Apples Fall?
  • Emerald City
  • Love Is Kind, Love Is Wine
  • All I Can Remember
  • Cloudy
  • The Sad Cloud
  • Colours Of My Life
  • Come The Day
  • Red Rubber Ball
  • Louisiana Man
  • Turn, Turn, Turn
  • California Dreamin’
Disc 2
  • Georgy Girl
  • Island Of Dreams
  • Well, Well, Well
  • When The Stars Begin To Fall
  • Morningtown Ride
  • Someday, One Day
  • Nobody Knows The Trouble I’ve Seen
  • Walk With Me
  • The Carnival Is Over
  • A World Of Our Own
  • Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • The Leaving Of Liverpool
  • We Shall Not Be Moved
  • Don’t Think Twice It’s Alright
  • The Wreck Of The Old ‘97
  • With My Swag All On My Shoulder
  • Whiskey In The Jar
  • This Little Light Of Mine
  • Danny Boy
  • Kumbaya
  • Lady Mary
  • What Have They Done To The Rain?
  • I’ll Never Find Another You
  • Open Up Them Pearly Gates
  • Myra

No comments

Powered by Blogger.